Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

hydro master cylinder mounting location?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by backyardbuilt, Apr 8, 2004.

  1. backyardbuilt

    backyardbuilt 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Posts:
    1,301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Olathe, Kansas
    Anyone have a pic of the firewall where it goes. I can't seem to find the hole where it goes. Thanks
     
  2. NoSmog73

    NoSmog73 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2001
    Posts:
    2,348
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lodi,ca
    Pm me your addy I will send you a template that you can put on the firewall and cut one time...lol
    I have one to go out for andy.
    Unless you have a truck to copy it from (that is what I did) then just placed it on the firewall and cut it out..That way it is in the right spot.. /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif
     
  3. NoSmog73

    NoSmog73 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2001
    Posts:
    2,348
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lodi,ca
    I am sure you know this but placement is 100% critical our the MC will leak in a very fast time span..
     
  4. beater_k20

    beater_k20 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Posts:
    10,276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Elkhart, IN
    on Tim's truck there was a hole in the firewall there already, and everything appears to have lined up correctly. my 86 has the same hole that i plan on using when i install mine.
     
  5. backyardbuilt

    backyardbuilt 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Posts:
    1,301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Olathe, Kansas
    I pm'ed tim about it, I think I found the hole. I used it to run a bunch of wires thru, lol. Guess I will have to move them.
     
  6. NoSmog73

    NoSmog73 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2001
    Posts:
    2,348
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lodi,ca
    Um NO...lol
    If it is a 85-87 cab then the hole that the wires go though isnt the right hole....It is close but no cigar..IIRC the hole you are thinking of has the cruise or wires like that in the hole..But that isnt the right MC hole.. /forums/images/graemlins/weld.gif
     
  7. backyardbuilt

    backyardbuilt 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Posts:
    1,301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Olathe, Kansas
    I have a 77 cab I put the wires there when I did the cab swap. I think it was the speedo cable hole originally. Just send me the template and I'll be fine, lol.
     
  8. beater_k20

    beater_k20 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Posts:
    10,276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Elkhart, IN
    [ QUOTE ]
    Um NO...lol
    If it is a 85-87 cab then the hole that the wires go though isnt the right hole....It is close but no cigar..IIRC the hole you are thinking of has the cruise or wires like that in the hole..But that isnt the right MC hole.. /forums/images/graemlins/weld.gif

    [/ QUOTE ]

    ok, so where is it?
     
  9. 84_Chevy_K10

    84_Chevy_K10 Banned

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    17,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL, USA
    [ QUOTE ]
    I pm'ed tim about it, I think I found the hole. I used it to run a bunch of wires thru, lol. Guess I will have to move them.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    That's exactly how mine was. Had to move the wires. This hole was plugged from the factory IIRC.

    Right hole or wrong, the master certainly hooked up there and it works beautifully with no binding.

    My cab is an 84.
     
  10. 84_Chevy_K10

    84_Chevy_K10 Banned

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    17,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL, USA
    In addition to mount the master anywhere else we would have had to weld up the firewall. There are two holes in it and if neither would work there is no way you could drill another and still have a solid enough firewall to mount the master.
     
  11. beater_k20

    beater_k20 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Posts:
    10,276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Elkhart, IN
    good point Tim, and i think had we used the other hole, there would've been interference between the firewall boot for the column, and the MC body. of course, that might not be a problem for you, since you've got that extra 3/8" hole in the firewall. /forums/images/graemlins/whistling.gif
     
  12. 84_Chevy_K10

    84_Chevy_K10 Banned

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    17,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL, USA
    The issue that I feel we might have had is that the rod for the master wouldn't reach the pedal unless it was really close.
     
  13. backyardbuilt

    backyardbuilt 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Posts:
    1,301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Olathe, Kansas
    I went ahead and stuck it in there to see what it looked like and it mounted to the peddles exactly the way it should, hell it almost went on the pedal post by itself when I went to check it.
     
  14. m j

    m j 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Posts:
    4,606
    Likes Received:
    0
    it gets tricky when 1/2 the posters are talking about the newer cab
     
  15. 84_Chevy_K10

    84_Chevy_K10 Banned

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    17,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL, USA
    [ QUOTE ]
    it gets tricky when 1/2 the posters are talking about the newer cab

    [/ QUOTE ]

    So the hole that everyone is referring to in the 85-87 cab is a no go or what?
     

Share This Page