Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Hydro ram limiting

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Citizen Rider, Jun 22, 2006.

  1. Citizen Rider

    Citizen Rider 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Posts:
    1,415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Plano, Texas
    I was told that i will need to put a stop inside the PSC 1.75x8 ram.

    Does anyone have or can give instructions on doing this? Pics would be awesome also. Just dont wanna mess it up.
     
  2. readymix

    readymix 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Posts:
    6,706
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Murrieta, California
    Do you have highsteer? D60, 10Bolt, D44, IFS????
     
  3. Citizen Rider

    Citizen Rider 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Posts:
    1,415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Plano, Texas
    Will be a D60, crossover with stock location tie rod.
     
  4. readymix

    readymix 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Posts:
    6,706
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Murrieta, California
    Should not need to do anything to it then. I will be getting the 1.5 x 8 PSC ram soon, and have heard that 8" is just right
     
  5. Citizen Rider

    Citizen Rider 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Posts:
    1,415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Plano, Texas
    I have also heard this, but ive been told that without the limiting it will crack and break the knuckles by over extending.
     
  6. sandawgk5

    sandawgk5 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Posts:
    6,881
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Kitsap County PACNORWEST
    I only heard that a 8" ram was too long with revearse high steer and was perfect for regular tie rod placement. Maybe I am wrong, would like to know an answer cause like readymix I too am gathering parts for hydro assist.

    Ira
     
  7. 85mudblazin

    85mudblazin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Posts:
    3,951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin,TX
    Mine is a 8" and it is perfect.

    You wont break knuckles with hydro assist.

    Why are you getting a new ram anyways?
     
  8. Citizen Rider

    Citizen Rider 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Posts:
    1,415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Plano, Texas
    Well mostly preference but when i get 20% off PSC stuff, it makes the deal even better.
     
  9. txfiremank5

    txfiremank5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Posts:
    3,105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX.
    I'll be running ORD hi-steer on my 60. I was thinking the stop went on the rod between the cylinder and the end .. is that not correct?
     
  10. readymix

    readymix 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Posts:
    6,706
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Murrieta, California
    Yes. On the inside of the ram, not the outside.
     
  11. txfiremank5

    txfiremank5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Posts:
    3,105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX.
    That's the impression I was getting. But i was thinking outside (although I didn't really like th eidea of that). I guess it would help if I had my ram already ;) . I'll probably be buying a rocklogic ram this week or so.
     
  12. 85mudblazin

    85mudblazin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Posts:
    3,951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin,TX
    It can go on the outside, just going to take a different style stop.
     
  13. readymix

    readymix 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Posts:
    6,706
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Murrieta, California
    And it will grind dirt and crap into it everytime the ram retracts into the stop
     
  14. txfiremank5

    txfiremank5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Posts:
    3,105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX.
    I think I'd rather have it inside for many reasons. I didn't want to buy a 6" stroke in the event that my set up changes in the future I could save myself from buying another ram. This way I can just remove the stop.
     
  15. 85mudblazin

    85mudblazin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Posts:
    3,951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin,TX
    No it wont, they make special stops that have a recess in them to allow for the gunk, same kind that full hydro rams use.
     
  16. readymix

    readymix 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Posts:
    6,706
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Murrieta, California
    Cool. I have never seen those before. Got a link?
     
  17. 4X4HIGH

    4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Posts:
    22,059
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA.
    If your tie rod is in factory location the 8" ram is what you'll need without any limiting. Now if you go hi steer then you'll need to limit travel by installing a spacer inside the ram. Just remove the heim on the shaft, then using a spanner wrench remove the cover and install the proper thickness spacer and put the cover back on.
     
  18. 85mudblazin

    85mudblazin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Posts:
    3,951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin,TX
  19. 4X4HIGH

    4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Posts:
    22,059
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA.
    That looks like it would be fine for a double ended ram with full hydro but not for a single shaft hydro assist ram as it would surely break the heim off the end.
     
  20. 74 chev

    74 chev 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2004
    Posts:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Concord,CA
    ive got the PSC 8'' ram on crossover with stock tie rod location also and its perfect.
     

Share This Page