Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

I got a Hydro clutch question.

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by RingMaster4x4, Jan 21, 2005.

1. RingMaster4x4

RingMaster4x4 1/2 ton status Premium Member

How much should the slave cylinder extend? I get about 1/2 a inch of movement. I have tried to bleed the clutch for about 6 hours total. and that is all I get. I have a new master cylinder and a used slave that came with that setup. I have tried to pump that clutch pedel, pumped the slave, and vaccume bleeder. What do you guy think.:confused: Thanks for any help

2. RingMaster4x4

3. dyeager535

dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

Sounds like the slave is bad unfortunately. It's so typical with used hydraulic stuff, and trying to bleed it, that is the first thing I thought of.

I have a used slave in the garage I can check travel on, but it will have to be tonight. If you PM me, I can't forget.

Also, if you unbolt it from the bellhousing, you can move it while pumping the brake, but be careful, you can ruin the MASTER doing this. Best to have two pair of eyes, and be very gentle on the pedal. Watch the slave and see if it extends without the clutchacting against it, if it does, the seals are leaking and you need a new one.

For bleeding, before blaming a good part, did you bleed it with it removed from the bellhousing? Need to hold it so the bleeder is "up"...I bled mine with my finger, just pushing on the slave rod until fluid came out, closing the valve, extending rod, loosen bleeder, push on rod, repeat.

4. RingMaster4x4

ok your saying that if I take it loose form the bellhousing it should not extend on it own? Mine does extend on it own.

5. 84_Chevy_K10

84_Chevy_K10 Banned

Are you trying to bleed with the slave in the bellhousing? It'll never bleed.