Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

I got an idea in my head

Discussion in '1982-Present GM Diesel' started by hunterguy86, Jan 13, 2006.

1. hunterguy86

hunterguy86 1/2 ton status

I'm thinkin of doin a 6.2 swap in my 86 k5. The plan is to try and find a complete truck and just swap everything over. From my research here it seems I would want one w/ a serp. belt setup with a J engine code. I guess that means no emissions. I'm not looking for a monster, I just want something w/ better fuel economy and power than my stock 305. This truck is my DD as well as weekend wheeler. I do everything from mud to sand to trails and mild rocks.
    I've got a few questions:

Should I even attempt this? I've never done a motor swap before but I feel that with plenty of good info I can do it.

I gather that the 6.2 should drop right in to the motor mounts. Is this correct?

Will it bolt up to my 700R4/np208?

Will this tranny even hold it?

Do i need to move the tranny at all?

How do yall like runin the 6.2 NA? Does it build enough tourqe for you?

What are some real world numbers for this engine as far as hp/tq/mpg?

I found this over at fourwheeler.com. http://fourwheeler.com/projectbuild/p52095_image_large.jpg
    They did a banks turbo on a 6.2 in a k5.
    Here is the write up: http://www.fourwheeler.com/projectbuild/7914/

Sorry for the long post.

2. skark_burmer

skark_burmer 1/2 ton status

i've got an 83 blazer with a 6.2 and i like it. Stock i think this year makes around 130 hp, dunno about the torque. Mine has a 700r4 with the 208 tcase.