Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

I hate visible smoke

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by BillyBob, Apr 19, 2000.

1. BillyBob

BillyBob 1/2 ton status

Another thing, my truck has 107K miles on it. I took it for inspection to a private guy. I knew it was gonna fail because of not having a parking brake, and the tranny indicator didn't work (it's an auto >_<). Anyways, I come back, I knew it failed... it passed emissions, barely, but the guy also failed it for visible smoke. I figured it was just some condensation in the exaust at first, because it never left plumes or anything. Well, since I'm no mechanical genius, nor do I have any time, I decided to take it to a local mechanic who mostly does 4x4s. Anyways, the guy wouldn't touch it because of the smoke. Makes sense cuz the engine is the most important part. It's burning some oil. The guy reccomended a new engine, but the thing still has at least another 25K on it. What can I do to fix this without spending a ton of money? My friend just did an oil change on it and added some restorer along with 5 quarts of oil. But I still need some help if this doesn't work

I love my truck, even if it fails inspection every day >_<
    -"It's soo high in da sky!"

2. colorado_emt

colorado_emt Registered Member

There's this stuff at the auto parts store i think its called no smoke or something like that. It's a clear bottle with green writing on it, anyways my dad(a shop foreman for a county) swears by it to get his trucks to pass. If I think of the exact name i'll let you know.

<font color=red>Chris</font color=red>
    <font color=blue>79 K-5</font color=blue>
    [​IMG]<font color=blue>EMS RULES</font color=blue>[​IMG]

3. BillyBob

BillyBob 1/2 ton status