Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

i have few tranny problems please help i am new to the mechanical world

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by tmaxxer9, Feb 12, 2003.

1. tmaxxer9

tmaxxer9 1/2 ton status

/forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gifOk I am new to vehicles and there power plants. Well this really has nothing to do with the engine, but instead the tranny. Ok sometimes when i drive it I can not go backwards when in the R postion. Instead it will go forward same with it being in the N postion. What do you think the problem could be. I think I either have a big air bubble in the tranny or I need to get it rebuilt. It is a 75 K5 blazer with a 350 in it. So any help would be great.

2. VitaminK5

VitaminK5 Registered Member

Drop the pan and make sure of where the linkage is connecting. There is a slotted arm for opening fluid ports that let you get in gear. Sticking valve body...small plunger..big spring! Clean fluid or metal shavings? Loose linkage, maybe. Gear selector arm under chassis where it pivots.

3. KrebsATM02

KrebsATM02 1/2 ton status

Whoa, take it easy, before you drop the pan make sure the linkage is adjusted right!!!! Sounds like the problem to me. - doug

4. mudober

mudober Registered Member

You may want to take it to your local tranny shop if the pan has to come off.It wont cost you much if you bring your own fluid to refill it to have it adj.Tranny stuff can be confusing looking up at it from the ground.Not to mention they drip all over you.

5. tmaxxer9

tmaxxer9 1/2 ton status