Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

I Just Can't win!!!!!!

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by bigcountryk5, May 1, 2005.

1. bigcountryk5

bigcountryk5 1/2 ton status

so i've got a crappy job, go to a crappy technical school for college when all of my friends with money go to state u's all over the country i get to live at home in the damn laundry room, go to school at night with noone i know a noone my age, and drive a P.O.S. DD 91 ranger and NOW IT WON"T EVEN RUN!!!!

i replaced my fuel filter because it was studdering on the highway yesterday, and now it turns over but won't run for more than 5 seconds there is no throttle repsonse the filter is in correct flow position the seal is good no leaks tank is full of gas i just don't know what to do.

i'm not a mechanic but i'm not a moron either i've got a haynes manual and am not completely useless so i can actually read and understand it but i just don't know what to do now but that gas can and lighter are looking pretty tempting right now.

i guess this is my punishment for driving a ford. :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :angry1: :angry1: :angry1:

2. randy88k5

randy88k5 1/2 ton status

My dad used to have an 88 Ranger, 2.9 V6 FI, Ignition module went, but there usually catastrophic failures. Seen many a bad ford module working in the parts business for a while.

My friend had a 90 Ranger, 4 cyl i think, FI, and he had a similar problem. It took us months of it sitting in my garage until we found it. Water had gotten into the wiring to the low voltage side (input) of the ignition coil. Couldnt see any corrosion from the outside at all, but if you stripped the wires, they were green.