Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

I know its been done to death but general locker talk for DD vehicles

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by jjlaughner, Jun 1, 2004.

1. jjlaughner

jjlaughner 3/4 ton status

How many of you run a locker rear and/or lockright front (or rear) in a Daily Driver?
    What are the benifits and draw backs?
    EI: Tire wear, maximum traction all the time esp during turning, snow, water/hydroplaining, snapping/popping while turning... ETC.

How about the people that get snow, I know the rear locker is not that great on snow and ice but what about a lockright in the front and/or rear?
    I've been running a 10bolt auburn in the rear for several years and love it but with next summers engine mods I'm wanting to do I might need some more beef out back in the form of a 14bolt. Just curious if a detroit in the rear of a DD will eat my tires up since I usually travel alot (sometimes 60miles each way for work or weekend trips). I'm also a little apprehinsive with a locker in the rear and snow at highway speeds commuting /forums/images/graemlins/thinking.gif /forums/images/graemlins/whistling.gif

now take my poll /forums/images/graemlins/whistling.gif

2. johnc

johnc Registered Member

I Am Naked /forums/images/graemlins/deal.gif /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif

3. jjlaughner

[ QUOTE ]
    I Am Naked /forums/images/graemlins/deal.gif /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif

[/ QUOTE ]

oops /forums/images/graemlins/ignore.gif
    I just typed in 12 choices and ended up using them all... I could have went for 15 and still forgot that option /forums/images/graemlins/thinking.gif

4. SF87K5

SF87K5 1/2 ton status