Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

I need a list of EVERYTHING that I am going to need install a Corvette TPI

Discussion in '1969-1972 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by 72Blazerod, May 14, 2002.

1. 72Blazerod

72Blazerod 1/2 ton status

Hi guys,

Okay, I got the entire 1990 Corvette L-98 with accessories but I need to make a shopping list of everything that I am going to need to install it in my 72 K5. I have heard it is pretty easy but I have never done anything like this before. So if you have done this swap could you let me know ALL the items you needed to get. I have to figure how much all the little stuff is going to cost to decide if my house really needs electricity for the next few months (LOL).

Thanks a lot again, guys, you're the best! (Man, I love this site!)

Rod

2. 71Blazer

71Blazer Registered Member

I'm in the middle of compiling the same information to swap an '86 corvette TPI into my '71. All is just theory untill I actually start the install (probably not until after this very busy summer :-( ) The May 2002 issue of Car Craft has a to-be-continued "Fuel Injection For Any Engine In Any Car" series of articles that are helpful. Just can't wait for the June follow-up! I'll be watching to see if you get your 'grocery list" as it will help me too. Keep me/us posted! Good luck and BTW that AM radio you sold me is working great and looks perfect, thanks!

3. Murph

Murph Registered Member

It has been a while, but here are the things I REMEMBER buying when I put in a 91 305 TPI. You may or may not need the same:

New TV cable (Lokar)
    New throttle cable (Lokar)
    New PROM without security (TPIS)
    Vehicle Speed Sensor (JagsThatRun)
    External fuel pump (eventually a new tank, but not necessary)
    New fan (opposite flow water pump)