Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

I need a list of EVERYTHING that I am going to need install a Corvette TPI

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by 72Blazerod, May 15, 2002.

1. 72Blazerod

72Blazerod 1/2 ton status

Hi guys,

Okay, I got the entire 1990 Corvette L-98 with accessories but I need to make a shopping list of everything that I am going to need to install it in my 72 K5. I have heard it is pretty easy but I have never done anything like this before. So if you have done this swap could you let me know ALL the items you needed to get. I have to figure how much all the little stuff is going to cost to decide if my house really needs electricity for the next few months (LOL).

Thanks a lot again,

Rod

2. 88streetblaze

88streetblaze 1/2 ton status

if you really have it all and it was all in good runinng shape all you would need is a fuel pump that is rated high enough and a return fuel line.

but somethings to think about is having the VATS removed (factory security) which i think most aftermarket harness take care of, VSS, O2 sensors and exhaust.

3. marv_springer

marv_springer 1/2 ton status

Contact "therobzilla"....

he put a TPI in his '72.

Marv

4. BurbinOR

BurbinOR 3/4 ton status

Suggestions -

1. Fuel tank with baffles (TBI type) for the off camber/angled stuff so you don't starve the motor. $150ish
    2. Hi pressure fuel pump either in tank or external (my preference). Easier to replace an external than dropping your tank who knows where. 43.5psi is the 'standard' expected needed pressure. $125ish
    3. Run new steel line from pump to engine compartment. 3/8" supply, 5/16" return (return can be rubber, I use the Spectre stainless wrapped rubber hose for abrasion resistance). DIY $40ish