Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

I need and engine!! Post up or... DECISION TIME!

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by BillyTungsten, Jan 4, 2006.

?

What motor to drop into my '73?

1. Crate Motor from who-ever-engine.com

41.8%
  2. Built motor from a local shop

32.1%
  3. Buddy's old corvette block & lotsa elbow grease

23.1%
  4. back pages of 'tradin-times' - fingers crossed!

3.0%
  1. BillyTungsten

BillyTungsten Registered Member

Allright, I am tired of so many different opinions... here is the deal: My '73 K5 is without a motor. I am not an expert, but I know what I want. I want really good low-end torque, but I am not crawling rocks. I want to run on pump gas, and when the weather is nice she is my DD. I do not want to spend $5k on an engine (got a quote yesterday for just that), but I want something reliable and not too stressed out.
    I have a buddy who will sell me a running '77 corvette engine for $250.00...
    What should I do? I have $2-3,000 to spend and I can install the motor myself. I have heard so many opinions I am tired. I am about to have a local shop build a 383 stroker (they claim 425 hp and 400 torque).

Help with opinions??

Last edited: Jan 11, 2006
  2. Broke_Wheeler

Broke_Wheeler Registered Member

suggestion

Im no expert on engine swaps into trucks(yet) i come from a sport-compact background. But anyway. Another option is diesel. Lots of low end grunt, and from what ive been reading on here they get pretty respectable MPG lifted and such. I know when i get a blazer, thats what is going in there. I would also imagine you could pick up a used diesel motor for cheap, and spend some money on tuning it up. And you can run it on Bio-diesel :) Just my friendly .02$

3. 8_YOUR_H2

8_YOUR_H2 1/2 ton status