Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

i need help ASAP

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by blazin83, Feb 4, 2007.

  1. blazin83

    blazin83 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    atlanta Ga
    ok heres the deal. i have a 84 k5 blazer with a 350 and factory turbo350 trans and factory transfercase

    i fried the turbo350 and bought a 700r4 with the factory transfercase. the trans crossmember from the 350 didnt fit. so i went back to the blazer that i got the 700r4 from and got the crossmember off of that thinking it would solve my problems. well i was wrong. now the crossmember wont bolt to the frame on my truck..the holes are completely different between the the holes in the frame and the holes in the crossmember...gerrrrrrrr

    so i decided to take the factory trensfercase off the turbo350 and try to attach it to the 700r4.. its completely different.. leaving me completely stumped..

    help a kid out!!

    thanks!!!
     
  2. chosen(1)

    chosen(1) 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Posts:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    You just have to drill new holes in the frame to fit the new crossmember.
     
  3. 1983Blazerkid

    1983Blazerkid Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Posts:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    brownsburg, in
    what year did you get the transmission and transfer case off of?
     
  4. blazin83

    blazin83 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    atlanta Ga
    i think it was an 84??
     
  5. BlaKK54Speed

    BlaKK54Speed 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Posts:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Omaha, NE

    theres your answer
     
  6. resurrected_jimmy

    resurrected_jimmy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Posts:
    2,241
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    back home in Houston
    the 700 is longer than the TH-350 so you may need to drill new holes in the frame to bolt it up. IIRC both the 700 and the TH-350 are 27 spline output and you should be able to bolt the T-case up by swapping adapters between the two T-cases. IMO take the 700 and whatever T-case it came with bolt it up to your motor and its crossmember and drill new holes in the frame. You may also need the drive shafts from this parts truck or have your rear shaft shortened and front lengthened to work out.
     
  7. sunnyc123abc

    sunnyc123abc 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Posts:
    636
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    I've had a th350 and a 700r4 in my 84 with a np208, and all i need to do was changed the adapter between the tranny and transfercase. I didn't need to drill new holes, cause the crossmember bolted up in the same spot.
     
  8. fordeater

    fordeater 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Posts:
    1,402
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Missoula, Montana
    I agree, just drill new holes. Thats what I did when I went from a 700r4/208 to a 465/205
     

Share This Page