Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

I need help w/ Blown Engine 1989 TBI

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by TEXICAN, Mar 26, 2006.

1. TEXICAN

TEXICAN Registered Member

Im new to all this. Just bought my first blazer on Monday, the engine was shot i didn't know it. The engine blew after i was almost home 80 miles later 10 miles from town. I need suggestions on what to do w/ the engine. How much horsepower can you make w/ a stock TBI. :confused:

2. Leper

Leper 1/2 ton status

Define blew.

3. TEXICAN

Well the car sells man lied and told me my K5 had a strong 350. Well i made it 10 miles from town and the engine wouldn't crank. So we pulled it w/ a chain to my automotive school. Pulled the whole drivetrain. We took off the intake it was full of sludge and shavings. Pulled the heads one was cracked. A small piece of a pistion head was missing. We drained the oil you could see all the water in it. It was more of a sludge. Looked like milk shake. The tranny fluid smelled burn't.

4. 1985_K5_Silverado

1985_K5_Silverado 1/2 ton status

That's an unfortunate situation, to put it mildly. At least it sounds like the TBI setup works OK, so you can still use that.

I have no idea how thick or thin your wallet is, and if you're in school, it's probably not sweating huge piles of cash, but perhaps the easiest thing, and fairly cheap as engines go, would be something like this long block. 3 year 50K mile warranty, 4-bolt mains, LT-1 rods, and 50HP more than the stock 1989 350TBI. Just the basic 10067353 without the intake (just use your TBI setup, distributor, and so forth), although you might need to have the TBI's ECM reprogrammed to work with the cam, or just throw in something like an edelbrock 3702 cam kit (it's computer-control compatible) and run it that way instead.