Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

I need more power

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Jonathan, Apr 18, 2001.

  1. Jonathan

    Jonathan 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2001
    Posts:
    293
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Little Rock, Arkansas
    Yesterday, I drove my 77 K5 to the golf course where i'll be working this summer, I have to go through a very hilly neighborhood and had it FLOORED but could barly do 25 up one hill. I need cheap power without comprimising gas milage, I am getting a K&N filter already. The motor is a 350, not original but don't know what year. Maybe flowmaster mufflers.
     
  2. bablazer73

    bablazer73 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2000
    Posts:
    3,363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    upstate ny
    I don't know the incline of the hill you were on, but it seems you should have more power than that! is there something wrong with the engine? carb workin? secondaries opening? vacume advance working? timing?

    your right. I don't understand the jeep thing!
     
  3. zach78k5

    zach78k5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 14, 2000
    Posts:
    406
    Likes Received:
    0
    how big are your tires? you might need lower gears if they are big. try headers. as has been said if you could only pull 25 up just about any hill you need to find out whats wrong. that is unless your gears are high and your tires are really big. if everything is normally fine i would check the carb, probably not opening the 3rd and 4th barrels.
     
  4. Jonathan

    Jonathan 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2001
    Posts:
    293
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Little Rock, Arkansas
    My tires are 31 inchers. I think there is something wrong with my carb, I know the choke is sticking sometimes. Does anyone know what kind of carburator I have or how can I tell? I don't know if carb is original, but motor is not, I don't think.
     
  5. Wheels

    Wheels 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2000
    Posts:
    638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Native Floridian living in Oklahoma, USA
    More than likely a Quadrajet. Sounds like it may be rebuild time. Also, you probably have 3.08 gears in the axles which are not helping the problem.
     
  6. Jonathan

    Jonathan 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2001
    Posts:
    293
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Little Rock, Arkansas
    Can I get a rebuild kit? How much? Where can I get one? What does it involve? I think I can do it, I rebuilt the carb on my four-wheeler having never taken apart a carb before that and did not have a problem, but I am sure that this a little different.
     
  7. CaptCrunch

    CaptCrunch 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2001
    Posts:
    3,596
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Check the gears... if you have 3.08's you will actually get better milage w/ steeper gears. 3.42's or 3.73 axles should be easy enough and decently priced... especially if you stay 10B's.

    [​IMG]
    1987 Chevy K5 Blazer- 350 TBI
     
  8. Jonathan

    Jonathan 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2001
    Posts:
    293
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Little Rock, Arkansas
    Thanks, but I think I'll keep my axels for milage reasons.
     
  9. Wheels

    Wheels 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2000
    Posts:
    638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Native Floridian living in Oklahoma, USA
    If you havent rebuilt a Q-jet, probably best to find a good carb shop and exchange it or have them do it. They are a nightmare to tune after the rebuild. If you insist, which is the only way to learn, get the number off the left side of the carb and any parts store should have a rebuild kit for it. If it's the original, the the throttle shaft is probably worn and the base will need to be swapped out. Also, they use a phenolic float that may be saturated with gas and there are casting areas that are epoxied closed for a reason. Best bet would be to find a carb shop for a swap.
     
  10. ChevyCaGal

    ChevyCaGal 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2000
    Posts:
    8,158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA USA
    Actually Capt was saying ditch the gears not the axles. You should get lower gears IMHO. I have 3.08's and they suck! Sounds like carb time too. You can get a rebuild kit at many places. Try <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.summitracing.com>http://www.summitracing.com</A> they probably will have it. I have heard, dunno how true it is that Napa sells the best rebuild kit out of the chain auto parts stores (anyone know?!) if you go that route. Might wanna just check to make sure everything is hooked up right and nothing simple is wrong like a loose hose or something.....I've done that. Thought I had a huge problem until I realized my dist cap wasn't bolted on totally right! DOH! [​IMG]

    "Suck Fumes Ford Boy"
    "I love my country, I fear my government"
    "What if the hokey pokey is what it's all about?"
     
  11. DMK

    DMK 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2000
    Posts:
    757
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CINCINNATI, OH
    When was it tuned up last?
     
  12. Blazer79

    Blazer79 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,816
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Guatemala, Central America
    I'd check spark plugs, spark plug wires, distributor rotor and cap. Also replace the fuel filter if you haven't done it recently. A cheap tune up like this can revive an engine you thought was ready for the junkyard.

    <font color=blue>//////
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://blazer79.coloradok5.com>http://blazer79.coloradok5.com</A>
    </font color=blue>[​IMG]
     
  13. Jonathan

    Jonathan 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2001
    Posts:
    293
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Little Rock, Arkansas
    I should be getting a tune up tomorrow. It also dies sometimes and gets about 9mpg. Maybe tuneup will help.
     
  14. Blazer_Boy

    Blazer_Boy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2000
    Posts:
    1,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sioux City, IA, USA
    Cool, you're a Jonathan with out the "h", me too.

    [​IMG]
     
  15. Hathaway

    Hathaway 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Posts:
    295
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Missoula Montana
    Get used to the 9mpg. Thats not that bad really. I was getting 6.5mpg before I added a K&N and when we still had oxygenated gas (that alone takes about 5mpg off...) and I've only got a 305.

    Dan, '86 K5, 5.0L v8, NP208, TH700R4, open 10bolts front and rear, 3.43gearing, K&N filter, 31x10.50R15 Trailhandlers
     
  16. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,979
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    Do not accept piss poor mileage. I don't know how people manage to get such horrid mileage with stock setups, and my god even overdrive, but I'm STILL getting consistent 12.5 MPG with a 350 (Q-jet) 3.42's and no OD in my K5. 33" tires. Thats combined city/freeway!!! If you aren't getting at least 10mpg with those 3.08's, something is wrong, which you know.

    Dorian
    My K5 and Chev/Olds tech/links page: <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.dorianyeager.com/index2.html>http://www.dorianyeager.com/index2.html</A>
     
  17. ftn96

    ftn96 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2000
    Posts:
    3,238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville Tn
    You get better gas milage with those smaller gears after you get up to cruising speed. But all the take off's in city driving will kill your milage too. Cause you motor is having to work hard to turn the tires with those little gears. Its just like riding a 10 speed in 10 gears starting of going up a hill.
    You need to get a full service tune up and go from there. There is no reason you should accept that bad a gas milage.
    Do the tune up and then get the carb check out. Sounds like from what your telling us, that the tune and making sure the carb is working correctly will fix most of your problems with hte gas. then if you still need more power then we can walk oyu through counting the gears vs. your tire size and depending on what tranny you have.
    When troubleshooting always start on the cheap end and work your way up.

    Will work for beer, parts and tools.
    90 Jimmy 350TBI-TCI 700R4-241-33" BFGs-10 bolts w/4.10's,
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.nashvillek5.freeservers.com>http://www.nashvillek5.freeservers.com</A>
     
  18. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,979
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    I got 10-13 city (depending on how easy I was on the throttle) with a 130k 305(qjet), 700R4, 3.08's, and 31's. That truck would hit 17's on the freeway every time. Its all in keeping the truck in proper tune, and matching components if you make modifications. The deep 1st gear of the 700 is adequate for stop and go, better than a Th350 or 400!


    Dorian
    My K5 and Chev/Olds tech/links page: <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.dorianyeager.com/index2.html>http://www.dorianyeager.com/index2.html</A>
     

Share This Page