Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

i need some help with figuring out how to do my lift

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by 85 Jimmy, Jan 18, 2006.

1. 85 Jimmy

85 Jimmy Sheepdog Premium Member

i've done searches to read on everything and all this reading and not understanding most of this stuff is making my head hurt... :what:

i'm new to this stuff but i know the p/o didn't do the lift i have on it now right... since it's 4 inch lift blocks front and rear.

anyway i want to do a 6" lift. what's the best way to do this and what do i need to get?

can you guy's give me a list of things that i need to get so i can order everything and then not have to wait another week or 2 cause i forgot something, or didn't know i needed something.

2. muddybuddy

muddybuddy 3/4 ton status

it has 4" blocks in the front?!?!?! remove them immediately! that is not safe. 6" lift springs in front (i recommend BDS or Tough Country) and then you could do 2" springs and 4" shackle flip or just 6" springs in the rear as well. you will also need a raised steering arm, if the p.o. didnt install one, and also either a drop pitman arm or a drop draglink. you will also need new brake lines, and new shocks.

3. 85 Jimmy

yes FRONT BLOCKS :eek:

i say i'm new to this stuff.... but really i'm not

so i should just get a complete kit from tough country? will that give me more articulation then a shakle?

4. muddybuddy

muddybuddy 3/4 ton status

shackle flip will give the most flex, but 6" TC's or BDS will still flex very well. go to www.offroaddesign.com , they sell tough country and lots of other parts.

5. Leper

Leper 1/2 ton status