Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

I need some more wiring help.

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by steedalx, Oct 6, 2004.

1. steedalx

steedalx 1/2 ton status

To sum things up my battery is being drained when the key is "off". I am tired to pulling the negative battery cable off so I am starting to troubleshoot the problem. So far I pulled ALL of the fuses out and unplugged the voltage regulator going to the alternator. It is still pulling power from somewhere. I am by no means an expert in this area so if anybody has any suggestions I would greatly appreciate it.

To determine that it is pulling power this is what I have done. I pulled the negative wire off of the battery, I used a pair of vice grips and connected the clip end of a test light to the battery and "stuck" the pointed end of the test light into the negative wire. If I am correct there there should be no light if no power is being pulled, but obviously the light is on. Is this the best(correct) way to test??

Thanks

2. hawkeye649

hawkeye649 1/2 ton status

Normally an Ammeter connected between one of the posts and the cable will tell you. Remove one of the fuses at a time, and see what changes. But you have done this, so I would try disconnecting things like the starter, etc, etc. If you don't have an ammeter then your test light idea should work.
    Good luck /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

3. dyeager535

dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

So if you removed all the fuses in the panel, and it's still drawing, is there anything else added in that perhaps bypasses the stock fuse panel? A lot of wiring gets added to vehicles as they age (unfortunately) and it seems 9 times out of 10, electrical problems are caused by the "new" wiring.