Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

I need the CK5 Geek Squad!!!

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by Capman2k, Oct 10, 2005.

  1. Capman2k

    Capman2k 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2001
    Posts:
    5,070
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    dg
    Alrighty, so I got this new computer a couple weeks ago....

    Sometime last week, it just shut off. No warning or anything, just off. So I unplugged it and plugged it back in and all was well till the next day it happened again. Then again. Then it stopped for several days, and yesterday it did it again. I didn't mess with it until I got home about an hour and a half ago, and all was well for about 20 minutes when it just shut itself off... Then again after another 5-10 or so minutes. Then another 5-10. Then again. Then I changed the power cord, and it lasted another 5-10 minutes. Now Windows has decided not to load, instead there's the blue screen saying windows won't load because of an error and now the computer is protecting itself... It says to uninstall any recently installed software or hardware, but it didn't start in any reasonable amount of time after installing new anything.

    I don't know what to do because I don't know anything about computers other than how to use and break them....

    !!!!!ESAELP EM PLEH
     
  2. darkshadow

    darkshadow 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Posts:
    12,250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    C-eh-N-eh-D-eh
    not that I know anything but sounds like your power suply isent working right or has a lose conection.
     
  3. MTMike

    MTMike 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,992
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Billings, Montana
    The most common cause for random shutdowns are: Faulty power supply, overheating, and/or mis-matched speed memory.

    Open the case, power it on and check for any fans that should be spinning that arent. If all fans are spinning, carefully feel the processor heat sink. It should be pretty warm but not scalding hot. If all is well, look into replacing the power supply. The memory speed mis-match is very unlikely on a brand new computer

    Good luck!

    Mike
     
  4. clarkjw24

    clarkjw24 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2003
    Posts:
    3,531
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    McBee, SC 29101
    Something similar happened when I got a new computer. It would shut down and not want to start back up. Had my i.t. guy look at it and everything looked good but he said that the temp setting was prob what was going on. So he raised it in the bios and I removed un used USB items. I had like 8 USB ports in use at startup which he thought could be causing some issues. BTW I had a dell for 4 years that I never shut off but when i got this emachine it doesn't like heat and long run times.
     
  5. sledheadak

    sledheadak 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Posts:
    1,283
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    anchorage,alaska
    get a bigger hammer
     
  6. darkshadow

    darkshadow 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Posts:
    12,250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    C-eh-N-eh-D-eh
    10 points!!!!!!!!
    good answer:bow::bow::bow::bow:
     
  7. Z3PR

    Z3PR Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Posts:
    19,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Everywhere
    Is it under warrenty ?? If so, exchange it for another one.
     
  8. botboy

    botboy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Posts:
    225
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Delano, MN, USA
    Just to check the painfully obvious...

    You have installed the MSBlast patch, right?
     
  9. badfish4tail

    badfish4tail 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    1,684
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Long Beach
    That happened to my puter at work! :mad:
    Turned out to be a bad motherboard :o
     
  10. jekquistk5

    jekquistk5 Weld nekid Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Posts:
    11,005
    Likes Received:
    836
    Location:
    Pinckney, MI
    there are so many things that can cause that issue. Like Z3pr said take it in if its under warranty! Or find a buddy that knows what he is doing
     
  11. Capman2k

    Capman2k 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2001
    Posts:
    5,070
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    dg

    I guess I should have said new to me instead of new... :doah:
     
  12. randy88k5

    randy88k5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lynchburg, VA, USA
    The most common problem I could guess would be overheating. Check to make sure the fans are working. Any other symptoms. Might need to flash the BIOS to get the most upadated version, could be a problem too.
     
  13. mudhog

    mudhog THEGAME Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2000
    Posts:
    17,899
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    portland oregon
    check the cpu fan and make sure it is not all cloged with dust
     
  14. k5freak44

    k5freak44 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Posts:
    2,164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Plano, TX
    my best guess is a brownout of somesort caused an error on the hard drive and its causing all kinds of other problems.

    what happens is, unline a surge when the power "browns out" or like fades in and out, it gives diffrent amounts of power to the hard drive causing it to slow down and speed up.

    this can cause all kinds of problems and i have lost 4 hard drives to it.


    good luck
     
  15. dogdaysunrise

    dogdaysunrise 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Posts:
    2,719
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Winterpeg
    sounds to me like when the computer gets into doing something intensive its drawing too much power from the powersupply. Go get a half decent powersupply in the 400w range and pop it in. Also open up the side of the case and check the capacitors to make sure they are not distented and bleeding. If they are then your motherboard is toast and its time to shop around. As the others stated check to make sure all fans are spinning and make sure they are dust free. If you have done all this and it still happens start pulling out cards and unplugging stuff one at a time (while its off) then turn it back on and see if it does it still (painfully slow process of elimination).
     
  16. RingMaster4x4

    RingMaster4x4 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Posts:
    2,049
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bartlett, Texas
    fans is more then likely your problem.

    Freak you need to get a UPS or a battery back up. the ones we sell have a $25K warrenty form the company.
     
  17. Capman2k

    Capman2k 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2001
    Posts:
    5,070
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    dg
    Hrmm... I can't even get into Windows anymore because that blue screen keeps coming up as it's loading... I think I'm a bit "skrewd" :doah:
     
  18. badfish4tail

    badfish4tail 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    1,684
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Long Beach
    Sorry to say, but sounds that way :o
     
  19. RingMaster4x4

    RingMaster4x4 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Posts:
    2,049
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bartlett, Texas
    Press F8 as the PC boots up ( don't just hold it down just keep pressing it over and over) The PC my beep but that is not a big deal. this will bring up a menu select "safe mode" once there go to your Hard drive properites and then click the Tools tab and run scan disk and defrag.
     

Share This Page