Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

I need to learn about slip yokes etc...

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by anatomiczero, Dec 20, 2001.

1. anatomiczero

anatomiczero 1/2 ton status

I'm a newbie and need to learn about this kind of stuff, slip yoke, fixed yoke etc. Are there any good websites about this? thanks

----------------------------------
    soon to have a blazer/jimmy

2. Panther

Panther 1/2 ton status

Well you're on the bets web site on the Net for learning about Chevy trucks. Check out the Specifications page on this site http://www.chuckschevytruckpages.com/ is a real good beginners page for Chevy trucks. He's got a lotta pics on there for identifying what's under your truck.

And don't hesitate to ask questions.

<font color=blue>Brilliance is like 4wd, it allows you to get stuck in a more remote location [​IMG]</font color=blue>

3. 89GMCSuburban

89GMCSuburban 1/2 ton status

A slip yoke is where the driveshaft goes into the transfer case. If your driveshaft has a snout that slides into the transfer case, you have a slip yoke. The driveshaft snout slips on some splines in the transfer case to compensate for the rear axle moving up and down. If something happens to your rearend on the trail, and you need to get out, you CAN'T JUST PULL OFF THE REAR DRIVESHAFT AND DRIVE OUT!!! Tranny fluid will end up everywhere!
    Fixed yokes bolt the u-joint on the driveshaft to the transfer case. The splines that move are in the driveshaft. If you take off the driveshaft, you can still drive off without spilling fluid all over the place.

Red 1989 GMC Suburban SLE V1500 - TBI 350, 700R4 w/ shift kit, Quad-shock front, 31/10.50/15 Pro Comp MT, 4.10 gears, Duals off cat

4. Anteak

Anteak 1/2 ton status