Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

i think i need lockers

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by general blaze, Oct 18, 2005.

1. general blaze

general blaze 1/2 ton status

well i got a 83 k5 blazer with the 6.2 ltr diesel. well today i almost got stuck in the mud. i had her wide open in 4low. and only one tire was spinning from what i could tell. the water was too deep for me to actually see the tires but i could only see spray from the right rear. I think i need lockers to fix this but i am still a newbie. what lockers should i get. and i also want to get lower gears. what should i look for and where?? thanks for the help

2. kennyw

kennyw N9PHW Premium Member

What do you have for axles? Most of the time lockers in 10 bolts and lower gears will cost more than just buying a set of 3/4 ton axles that are stronger and already have lower gears then adding a locker. Lockers in a 10 bolt are also a good way to end up with a pile of broken parts faster.

3. general blaze

i am not sure what is in it. i just got the truck a little while ago. but it is slow as hell off the line. and have no low end power. how do i tell what is in there

4. Russell

Russell LB7 Tahoe Status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

Best way is to compare how many times the driveshaft turns for each tire revolution...

If you go for steeper gears, make sure you don't go too steep, or your diesel will have itself wound out before it makes highway speeds.

5. 350k5

350k5 1/2 ton status