Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

i want to rebuild my own !!

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by nicshorse, Apr 30, 2003.

1. nicshorse

nicshorse Registered Member

who has the best manual/video for rebuilding my own transmissions. i am a beginner and i don't know the first thing about them except for where to check the dipstick.for this reason i really need something that caters to the beginner. anyone have any experience with this?

2. Waxer

Waxer 1/2 ton status Author

From the impression I get from you saying you are a beginner, your best bet is to have it rebuild somewhere and watch their every move while asking questions and taking notes.

3. BLZN4FN

BLZN4FN 1/2 ton status

I have to agree with Waxer on this.There is alot of parts in there you get one wrong you just pissed your time and money
    away and have to start over or have it done.

4. dyeager535

dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

Bah. If you find a recommended video, buy it and watch it. You'll decide if you can handle a rebuild or not. FWIW ATSG sells rebuild manuals, but you can get the same info out of a GM service manual for the appropriate year. IMO a video is worth more than the manual...pictures can only show so much, usualy from one angle, while the video makes the whole process MUCH clearer. Even learned a time saving trick for one tranny I did. Unfortunately the tape is on (permanent?) loan, so I can't tell you who made it. If I find out, I'll let you know.

They pay guys without high school diplomas to rebuild these things, I bet you can do it too /forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif