Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Identify this and its use please.

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by clarkjw24, Oct 2, 2005.

  1. clarkjw24

    clarkjw24 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2003
    Posts:
    3,531
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    McBee, SC 29101
    I found this hooked up in a 66 ford that I was parting. Is this a standard for ebrakes back then and would it work on my K5 with rear disk?
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  2. 85mudblazin

    85mudblazin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Posts:
    3,951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin,TX
    Its a line lock. Just a standard micro lock valve. Ill take it if you dont want it :D
     
  3. mikey_d05

    mikey_d05 1 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Posts:
    10,453
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    I think 85's got it, looks like a regular line lock to me, that's why it says operational braking only. If you don't want it, ship it my way, Mankato Minnesota is about 30 miles east of where I live. :D
     
  4. clarkjw24

    clarkjw24 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2003
    Posts:
    3,531
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    McBee, SC 29101
    So can I pipe into the rear brakes and have an ebrake. I dont' want to get into the debate about linelocks and crap. Just is it worth having? BTW what do they usually cost?
     
  5. mikey_d05

    mikey_d05 1 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Posts:
    10,453
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    As long as the valve is still functional you'll have a line lock, not really an e-brake :D

    I'm not sure if it's worth keeping around since it's fully mechanical and you'd have to either plumb your brake lines into the cab or put the switch under the hood. IMHO an electric one would be more convenient.
     
  6. BlitzK5

    BlitzK5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    288
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada
    Would'nt you apply brake first then lift lever to lock the line pressure.
     
  7. Corey 78K5

    Corey 78K5 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    13,055
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Humboldt County, CA
    Yes, You have to apply brake pressure first to seat the shoes/pads then set the Micro lock to hold the brake pressure on them. All the Micro lock does is replace Your foot and brake pedal. But as with any hydraulic system there is bleed off. I use Micro locks every day at work and they are only a back up to the emergency brake. If I use them for a long period of time I will usually reset them about every 30 minutes.
     
  8. tRustyK5

    tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Posts:
    36,170
    Likes Received:
    1,379
    Location:
    E-town baby!
    It's a Mico lock...not "micro lock" for God's sake. You look at it every day Corey.

    It'd be great for a trail e-brake, but definitely wasn't factory issue on a passenger car. See em on old forklift's a lot.

    Rene
     
  9. Corey 78K5

    Corey 78K5 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    13,055
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Humboldt County, CA
    I know, I just call them that and never think about it when I type it. OPPS
     
  10. tRustyK5

    tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Posts:
    36,170
    Likes Received:
    1,379
    Location:
    E-town baby!
    I'm just bustin on ya Corey...:p: 99% of people i know call them "micro-locks".

    Rene
     
  11. Blazer1970

    Blazer1970 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,600
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Old Mission, MI
    No, just like it says on the valve, you lift the lever then apply the brakes. It has a check valve in it. It wouldn't hold right if you apply the brakes first.
     
  12. sweetk30

    sweetk30 professional hooker Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    25,539
    Likes Received:
    538
    Location:
    horseheads , ny 14845
  13. clarkjw24

    clarkjw24 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2003
    Posts:
    3,531
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    McBee, SC 29101
    The lines were unhooked when I got it but I assume you run it inline. Come out of the rear brake res, into the lever, back out the lever to the line that was feeding the rear brakes?
     
  14. sweetk30

    sweetk30 professional hooker Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    25,539
    Likes Received:
    538
    Location:
    horseheads , ny 14845
    yep and clic the link i posted for parts and stuff.
     

Share This Page