Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

if one converts an NP208 to fixed yoke would I be able to use the stock driveshaft?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by big_truxx, Aug 29, 2005.

  1. big_truxx

    big_truxx 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Posts:
    2,272
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canaan, Maine
    anyone know?
     
  2. BranndonC

    BranndonC 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Posts:
    8,591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anaheim, Ca
    298? is that new? Whats the gearing like? :haha:
    you mean convert the stock yolk shaft to fixed yolk also? dont know the terms or if its possible, i just wanted to razz ya
     
  3. big_truxx

    big_truxx 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Posts:
    2,272
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canaan, Maine
    there mr smarty pants ;) :p:

    and you can convert a GM NP208 to a fixed rear output using the output shaft from a dodge NP208 ;)

    I was just wondering if it would use the same drive shaft as the normal NP208 in a blazer ;) :waytogo:
     
  4. 89GMCSuburban

    89GMCSuburban 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2001
    Posts:
    3,005
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Thornton, CO
    You're gonna have to see if the yokes are the same size, but regardless, the shaft is going to be too short after the conversion, so you'll need it lengthened anyway with a slip added.
     
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2005
  5. big_truxx

    big_truxx 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Posts:
    2,272
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canaan, Maine
    the 203 is fixed rear output right?

    I had swapped in a stock driveshaft from a 79 k5 into the 81 k5 i had lifted 6" and 35's on... worked a lot better as the shaft itself is 2 piece and all ;)
     
  6. MNorby

    MNorby 3/4 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2001
    Posts:
    6,125
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Powell, Wy
    if you go from slip to fixed yoke you will have to get a driveline that has a slip in it instead of the yoke.
     
  7. big_truxx

    big_truxx 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Posts:
    2,272
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canaan, Maine
    so thats why the front driveshaft is slip :D cool
     
  8. big4x4ride

    big4x4ride 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Posts:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Corpus Christi, TX
    just get the shaft from a dodge Ramcharger or truck and mdify it, that whta i did
     
  9. big_truxx

    big_truxx 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Posts:
    2,272
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canaan, Maine
    one like the one i used in my 81 that was from a stock 79 w/ 305/350/203 should work fine.
     

Share This Page