Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

I'm an idiot.

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by clarkjw24, Dec 8, 2004.

1. clarkjw24

clarkjw24 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

When I was building my 350 a few years back I ordered my engine kit online. It had three options for cams. So I just picked the biggest one. Today I went back to the site to see what the cam duration and lift was because I'm going tbi and needed the info when I get my new chip burnt. Now the site list all kinds of important info with each cam.
    My cam specs read: Comp Cam 12-210-2, 1500-5000 Rpm, 268 Duration, 454 lift, Valve springs must be changed, 2500+ stall required and not computer compatible.
    I've been running this engine for about 4 years and didn't "change the valve springs" or run a 2500 stall.

Will I have to buy another cam to make my tbi work?
    Should I be running a stall?
    Can my chip be burnt to work with this cam.
    Should I have my valve springs redone?

I had the heads redone at the time of the rebuild, but I'm running a factory tc.

What would you do? FYI I don't pay anyone to do anything other than machine work so I'm not taking it to a mechanic.

2. Z3PR

Z3PR Banned

Personally I'd call up Comp Cams, tell them what you have and what you want too do. I'm pretty sure they're going too recomend a different cam, but if you want the TBI set up too work propperly, it's worth it. Don't feel bad, most people over cam thier engines.

3. big83chevy4x4

big83chevy4x4 3/4 ton status

i think your fine with the valve springs and torque converter.

as for the TBI, give eagle mark a PM and see what he thinks, he also programs the chips for TBI :thumb:

4. Hossbaby50

Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status