Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

I'm new and need some advise

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by pissant469, Dec 2, 2002.

1. pissant469

pissant469 1/2 ton status

I\'m new and need some advise

I just bought an 84 /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif(actually a Generic Made Chevy Jimmy). I am not that experienced in 4x4s. However i have done a lot of mud-ridin. I got screwed on the truck and had the motor locked 2 days after I bought it. So out came the stock 305 and I built a 350 for it with flat top pistons, a comp 4x4 extreme cam, performer rpm intake, 600 edelbrock, and a set of shaved 882's with 1.94 1.50 valves that I mildly ported and polished. The main reason I am posting is the four wheel drive doesn't work. The guy said the splines in the front drive are simply stripped. However he also said the motor was good. So I have a feeling the front diffrential is locked. If it is then i don't won't to rebiuld the weak 10 bolt. I eventually plan to lift 6" and run 35 inch tires with a spool in front and a locker out back. I live in south Alabama so there isn't that many serious trails or rocks just a bunch of mud holes and mild trails to have fun on. I was thinking of swapping in a Dana 44 up front and a Dana 60 out back. If you don't think this is the best selection for my setup then please e-mail me pissant469@hotmail.com. Thanx for your time and any additional info would be greatly appreciated.

2. Grim-Reaper

Grim-Reaper 3/4 ton status Author

Re: I\'m new and need some advise