Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

imporatnce of kickdown cable on TH350

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by boots, Nov 20, 2002.

1. boots

boots 1/2 ton status

Was reading in one post about the "touchyness" of the 700R4 kickdown adjustment. How particular are the TH350's? Yeah I'm a realitive newbie to my own wrench flinging but trying to do it right, and I am mechanically inclined. I'll prove it to ya, my tool of choice is a 2 pound sldege head welded onto 2 feet of 1.25 solid cold rolled. I need to track down more hardware before hooking up the kickdown, can I get away without hooking it up?

2. unsane

unsane Guest

I dont know about the TH350, but on a 700R4 the fastest way to frizzle fry it is to NOT hook up the detent (or kickdown) cable. And yes I do know this from experience unfortunatley!! As far as the TH350 goes I would say get the cable and hhok it up. Try this link http://www.artcarr.com/faq.html#faq9

3. reddog64

reddog64 1/2 ton status

take what i say for a grain of salt.. but isnt the th350 a mechanical kickdown.. so if you do it manually.. ???? It should be ok... my th400 doesnt have it's kickdown hooked up... Blazers didnt come with th400's.. I never had a problem... /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

4. Geno

Geno Registered Member

You can get by without the cable hooked up. But you will miss the KICKDOWN when you put your FOOTDOWN! /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif

5. ratlover

ratlover 1/2 ton status

700's dont have a kick down.....its a TV cable. Throttle valve. Its how the trany knows how and when to shift and how much line preasure to use. You will fry it with out it.

A TH350 just uses a kick down as was said so now you wont have a passing gear. I drove for 20k without one one one of my POS's

a 400 uses a switch.