Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Inline 6s in K-5s

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by MEPR, May 4, 2003.

  1. MEPR

    MEPR 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Posts:
    1,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    McChord AFB
    ALright call me an inline motor nut but i gotta know. Did k-5s come whith 292 inline 6s. And if so do you think anny of em are left?
     
  2. tecton

    tecton 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Posts:
    1,553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    WV
    yeah, they couldnt have gotten very far /forums/images/graemlins/ignore.gif
     
  3. bigjbear

    bigjbear 1 ton status Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2000
    Posts:
    13,967
    Likes Received:
    448
    Location:
    Marietta GA
    I've only seen one, but it was in a 2WD.
     
  4. MEPR

    MEPR 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Posts:
    1,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    McChord AFB
    i dont realy know why but i whant to have a k-5 whith a 292 in it. And if it is a 2wd it wont be that hard to convert to 4x4 right. /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif
     
  5. bigjbear

    bigjbear 1 ton status Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2000
    Posts:
    13,967
    Likes Received:
    448
    Location:
    Marietta GA
    Prob easier to convert to I-6 from V-8, than 2WD to 4WD.
     
  6. bigjbear

    bigjbear 1 ton status Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2000
    Posts:
    13,967
    Likes Received:
    448
    Location:
    Marietta GA
    I'll get stoned for this but I've seen a couple Broncos w/ the 300 I-6, don't know how bad you want to stay in a Chevy, but its an option.
     
  7. Blue85

    Blue85 Troll Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2000
    Posts:
    9,073
    Likes Received:
    486
    Location:
    Grand Rapids area
    The I-6 was supposed to have been the standard engine for several years. In fact, that was one of Ford's marketing angles: that Bronco came standard with V-8, Blazer came standard with I-6. I also heard that there was a factory soft-top option. I've never seen either of those or a 2WD blazer.
     
  8. MEPR

    MEPR 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Posts:
    1,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    McChord AFB
    oh i already have a ford 300-6 (read my sig, 4.9L) and i love it. It actually seems to pull better than many stock 350 cevs in pick ups, thats why i was wondering about the 292 in a k-5.
     
  9. bigjbear

    bigjbear 1 ton status Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2000
    Posts:
    13,967
    Likes Received:
    448
    Location:
    Marietta GA
    Yep, I remember you posting about the F-150 in the past, that's why I brought it up.
    The 292 uses the same bell as the the V-8s, right? It can't any worse than a SBC to BBC swap. Prob easier-more room to work w/.
     
  10. chulisohombre

    chulisohombre 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2002
    Posts:
    4,139
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Bangor,Pa
    before i bought my current 72k5,i had found a 71 with a i6 and a 3 on the tree.the guy said it was standard when he bought it.ive also seen 2 first gens 2 wheel drive blazers.they are hard to come by.i dont think they made many of them.
     
  11. Hossbaby50

    Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Posts:
    8,972
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    I don't think many actually left the factory with I6's. I haven't seen one. I have seen them with V6's, but not I6's. They are supposed to be out there though.

    I to am going to put an I6 into a Blazer for my next project. It is going to be a hardcore rock only rig, and I want the torque and mileage of the I6.
     
  12. ben427

    ben427 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2002
    Posts:
    1,123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Waverley, Nova Scotia
    The blazers came with 250 I6 until 1980 or so. to put a 292 in the passenger side frame mount has to be moved ahead 2 inches or so. The 292 is a really torquey engine and is great for crawling but doesnt like going over 4000 rpm. i had one until a couple months ago. It would spin my 38's for fun.
     
  13. Corey 78K5

    Corey 78K5 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    13,055
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Humboldt County, CA
    The 292 L6 was never offerd in the K5's. The 250 L6 was offerd untill 84. The 262 (4.3) V6 replaced the 250 L6 in 85 and 86. From 87-91 the standard engine was a 350.
     
  14. tarussell

    tarussell 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    Posts:
    1,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bagdad , FL
    Now your talking ! I am installing a 292 in my K-5 right now .
    As others have said a 292 was a 3/4 Ton and up offering only.
    My last truck was a GMC K3500 w/ a 454 and I loved it but I think that a true off-road capable Blazer ought to have bottom end balls at idle and not to many motors will pull down low like a 292.
    If you do decide to put a 292 in a Blazer there are a few things to watch out for.
    First ( as stated by others earlier ) is the passenger side motor mount is farther forward than the 250's & V-8's .
    The flywheel has larger bolts that hold it to the crank ( 1/2 instead of 7/16 ) and there are 3 allignment dowels on the crank instead of just one. Note: some early 292's used the smaller flywheel bolts and one dowel.
    A lot of 292's came in C-40's / 50's / and 60 series trucks in the late sixty's and early seventy's and they had wider drive belts than did the 1 Ton on down trucks. You may have pulley accessory problems if you get one from a large truck.
    The harmonic dampner has the drive belt groves in different spots ( the groves are made into the balancer )so get all of the pulleys off of your donor motor- they are not all the same.
    Good luck ! If you decide to do a 292 swap and Ya' got questions feel free to ask anytime . Tom
     
  15. jhrody

    jhrody 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2003
    Posts:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Elmhurst, IL
    my '78 had an '84 truck 250 (2bbl and dual outlet exhaust)in it. Very capable I thought. Never had problems with inadequate torque.
     
  16. ntaj*ep

    ntaj*ep 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Posts:
    3,248
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Evergreen state
    I just sold a '70 with a 6 and 4 on the floor.
     
  17. muddysub

    muddysub 1 ton suburban status Staff Member Moderator GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2001
    Posts:
    10,451
    Likes Received:
    489
    Location:
    my garage, Henderson, NV
    id like to see an I6 in a k5... you know 3406b, 3176, c-16 somethin like that. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  18. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I have seen a 1/2 ton Chevy with a ford I6 300. The Ford 6 is a good motor in my opinion. Beat it forever then some more.
     
  19. MEPR

    MEPR 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Posts:
    1,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    McChord AFB
    yeah the 300-6 was the only reason i bought my f-150. If it had a 351 in it i would have kept looking (probly bought a k-5). But yeah just wait untill you get a ford 300 bored out, mine is running 310 actuall cubs in it right now.
     
  20. ben427

    ben427 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2002
    Posts:
    1,123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Waverley, Nova Scotia
    Bleh, the first and the last arent bad, but id stay away from the 3176. can you say grenade???
     

Share This Page