Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Install a factory tach in non-fact tach truck that now has HEI

Discussion in '1969-1972 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by topjimmy, Feb 20, 2003.

  1. topjimmy

    topjimmy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Posts:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD
    <font color="blue"> </font> Hey, what will I need to do to makethis work?!?! Any help, info will be greatly appreciated! Thx! /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif <font color="blue"> </font> /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif
     
  2. Rusty68

    Rusty68 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Posts:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Elko, Nevada
    I have a factory tach in my 68 and it does not read correctly. I have heard you need to add some for of resistor inline but do not have this info off hand. Here is a small tech article I put on my web page stating how to put a 70's Camaro tach in a truck. These were made to work with the HEI already and look better in my opinion.
    http://groups.msn.com/ProjectBigRed/acheaptachalternative.msnw
     
  3. Larry_in_Tx

    Larry_in_Tx 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Posts:
    404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston Tx.
    This is a thread from a little while back. It's got some good stuff in it.
     
  4. Steve_Chin

    Steve_Chin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2001
    Posts:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Foster City, CA, USA
    Filter circuit... It's not simply a resistor.

    FWIW, you can pirate filters off of some middle '80s GM cars and trucks, or you can make your own. There's also a guy named Rodney Dickman who makes these filters for GM cars that have blown theirs. He sells them on his web site.
     

Share This Page