Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Installed the "NEW" 850 CFM Q-Jet today......BUT....need help!

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Greg72, Jan 22, 2002.

  1. Greg72

    Greg72 "Might As Well..." Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Posts:
    15,683
    Likes Received:
    1,392
    Location:
    642 Days to BB2018
    Installed the \"NEW\" 850 CFM Q-Jet today......BUT....need help!

    OK....

    I saw the FourWheeler writeup....got excited.....ordered the carb.....UPS delivered it from Summit today....bolted it on....re-connected everything that was on the old carb EXCEPT:

    WHAT'S WITH THIS WEIRDO GAS INLET FITTING!!!!! [​IMG]

    I can't connect a rubber fuel line to this thing....it's a female threaded socket that must be at least 1/2" I.D. with a weird looking "flare fitting" bulge at the bottom of the fitting. I called SUMMIT and they said that I need to find another OLD Q-Jet and steal the fitting from it, because that's the part I need.

    Does anyone know what I'm talking about here....? Are you 'ol timers just nodding your heads and laughing right now? I didn't have a Q-Jet before, so I don't have the damn fitting to swap over. This is the ONLY part I need to start-er-up and see if this carb is really as GREAT as everyone's been saying.

    Any ideas? I'm in San Jose, CA....I'd really like to find a local CK5'er with the part, or get the name of a shop locally who might be able to help out.

    THANKS GUYS! [​IMG]



    -Greg72

    '72 K5 Blazer - 427BB/TH350/NP205/6" Lift/35x12.50's
    <font color=blue>See it here: </font color=blue><a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/albun38>http://coloradok5.com/gallery/albun38</a>
     
  2. Hossbaby50

    Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Posts:
    8,972
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    Re: Installed the \"NEW\" 850 CFM Q-Jet today......BUT....need help!

    An old Qjet has the fuel filter in the carb. The fitting they are talking about is the piece where the filter fits in I think. Then you have to have a piece of steel fuel line flared and a nut to screw into the piece the filter is in. Go to a junk yard, find a Qjet, cut the hard fuel lines going into the Qjet about 3"s from the fittings, and unscrew the piece you need. Connect the rubber fuel line to the piece you cut off, put in a filter and your good to go. DONT over tighten the fitting going into the carb, or you will strip the treads. Don't ask me how I know.

    My Chevy isn't broken, its just out of gas.
     
  3. KRAZIE87K5

    KRAZIE87K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2001
    Posts:
    3,369
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Re: Installed the \"NEW\" 850 CFM Q-Jet today......BUT....need help!

    Greg - You gotta let me know how it does, I want to get one too!

    <font color=red>GOT MUD???</font color=red>
    My license plate reads:<font color=blue> 8 YR SUV</font color=blue>
    454/TH400/NP205 - 14BFF/D60/w/ 4.10s - 36" TSLs
     
  4. Greg72

    Greg72 "Might As Well..." Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Posts:
    15,683
    Likes Received:
    1,392
    Location:
    642 Days to BB2018
    Re: Installed the \"NEW\" 850 CFM Q-Jet today......BUT....need help!

    Hoss,

    You're thinking of the right part.....what I need is the fitting that I connect standard rubber fuel line to on the one end, and then "somehow".....either with a flared tube and nut or something....it threads into that "mystery fuel inlet/filter" thingie!!!

    I am just really PISSED that I may have to scrounge junkyards for an adapter to fit a brand-new $500 carburetor!!!!! Does that seem wrong to anyone else here?? [​IMG]

    ....Sorry, I'm venting at the problem....not at YOU GUYS.



    -Greg72

    '72 K5 Blazer - 427BB/TH350/NP205/6" Lift/35x12.50's
    <font color=blue>See it here: </font color=blue><a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/albun38>http://coloradok5.com/gallery/albun38</a>
     
  5. Hossbaby50

    Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Posts:
    8,972
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    Re: Installed the \"NEW\" 850 CFM Q-Jet today......BUT....need help!

    I understand. I wouldn't want to junk yard scrounging too. THey probably assumed you had a Qjet so you wouldn't need that piece. Go to a junk yard and cut the 3"s or so, get the nut you need, and flare the end you cut. Put the fuel line on and use a hose clamp to secure it and your done. Or go to napa, and they can probably help you.

    My Chevy isn't broken, its just out of gas.
     
  6. Greg72

    Greg72 "Might As Well..." Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Posts:
    15,683
    Likes Received:
    1,392
    Location:
    642 Days to BB2018
    Re: Installed the

    Krazie,

    You may decide to keep your 454 after all.....you should see those cute little "primaries" on there! And right next door are the MONSTER "take no prisoners" secondaries....which look downright scary!!! [​IMG] Keep your foot out of those, and you might get a LOT better mileage....

    I did get it to start briefly before I noticed the fuel leaking from that stupid fitting. Seems to idle smoother....and throttle seems crisper at low rpms. They claim that's one of the "NEW" changes...special idle discharge ports to provide better idle control for engines with long duration cams. Also an adjustable "cruise" air/fuel ratio adjustment for part-throttle calibration.

    Don't fully understand all that yet....but it sure sounds cool. [​IMG]



    -Greg72

    '72 K5 Blazer - 427BB/TH350/NP205/6" Lift/35x12.50's
    <font color=blue>See it here: </font color=blue><a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/albun38>http://coloradok5.com/gallery/albun38</a>
     
  7. BorregoK5

    BorregoK5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2001
    Posts:
    2,457
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Marcos, Ca USA
    Re: Installed the

    That fitting at the carb can be purchased as well, at a well stocked Pep Boys. I had mine plummed to the fuel pump with steal braided fuel line. While you don't need the steel braid, you can get the fittings (my fuel pump is mechanical and has the exact same size fitting) through summit or jegs or a local Earls for around 30 bucks. Consequently I used angle fittings as well.

    I started with nothing and I still have most of that left! - <a target="_blank" href=http://24.55.50.76:81/k5> Pictures</a>
     
  8. Twiz

    Twiz 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2001
    Posts:
    3,729
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Clearfield Ut.
    Re: Installed the

    Sounds like just your inlet fitting is wrong. Not a big deal (as sated above), Most Q-jets have the same filter/inlet fitting, with the 1" hex-filter fitting the fuel-line goes in-to. But they might have different fuel-line to carb fittings. Not a big-deal, just swap-it out for the one you need.

    The Q-jet is the most-advanced carburator used in domestice vehicals. It has made the "grade" from 1950 (ish) up to mid- 1990 ((ish) in Super/H/D)). So, be happy, but don't expect to "buy" your way into heaven. It will need to be tuned for perfection.
    All carbs do..

    <font color=white>.</font color=white>Eric
    <font color=white>.</font color=white>Twizted
     
  9. juanblzer

    juanblzer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2001
    Posts:
    1,614
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Chandler, Arizona
    Re: Installed the \"NEW\" 850 CFM Q-Jet today......BUT....need help!

    Ooh, Ooh how much was it? I have been looking like crazy. I want it. Seems cheaper than a TBI swap and easier. I have a Qjet on my truck now so that filter inlet/outlet thingy wont be too much of a problem.
    Juan

    chrome sucks
    about chrome: "I didn't know it was possible for something to both suck and blow"
     
  10. Greg72

    Greg72 "Might As Well..." Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Posts:
    15,683
    Likes Received:
    1,392
    Location:
    642 Days to BB2018
    Re: Installed the \"NEW\" 850 CFM Q-Jet today......BUT....need help!

    Juan,

    Summit Racing:

    Part #EDL-1910 $457.95 (850 CFM Q-Jet)
    Part #EDL-1992 $103.39 (Optional calibration kit: Rods/Jets/Springs/etc)

    Call now.....operators are standing by..... [​IMG]

    But don't forget to buy THAT STUPID FUEL INLET ADAPTER !!! .......sorry, I'm still a little miffed about that. [​IMG]



    -Greg72

    '72 K5 Blazer - 427BB/TH350/NP205/6" Lift/35x12.50's
    <font color=blue>See it here: </font color=blue><a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/albun38>http://coloradok5.com/gallery/albun38</a>
     
  11. Greg72

    Greg72 "Might As Well..." Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Posts:
    15,683
    Likes Received:
    1,392
    Location:
    642 Days to BB2018
    Re: Installed the \"NEW\" 850 CFM Q-Jet today......BUT....need help!

    Also noticed there's one on e-Bay right now.....currently around $200.

    If you're a "gambler" it might be a way to save some $$$ for the exact same thing....



    -Greg72

    '72 K5 Blazer - 427BB/TH350/NP205/6" Lift/35x12.50's
    <font color=blue>See it here: </font color=blue><a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/albun38>http://coloradok5.com/gallery/albun38</a>
     
  12. juanblzer

    juanblzer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2001
    Posts:
    1,614
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Chandler, Arizona
    Re: Installed the \"NEW\" 850 CFM Q-Jet today......BUT....need help!

    Ok, I have another question. Do I need to buy a Performer RPM intake to run this carb? I have an Edelbrock Performer intake but do I need the RPM model? If so the price keeps going higher.

    chrome sucks
    about chrome: "I didn't know it was possible for something to both suck and blow"
     
  13. Greg72

    Greg72 "Might As Well..." Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Posts:
    15,683
    Likes Received:
    1,392
    Location:
    642 Days to BB2018
    Re: Installed the \"NEW\" 850 CFM Q-Jet today......BUT....need help!

    Juan,

    Don't know the answer to that one....my intake is setup for a spreadbore carb (opening is larger on one side for the larger secondary ports). If your intake is setup for a standard 4-barrel, there might be some interference.

    I do know that Edelbrock sells all sorts of adapter plates and spacers, so there's certainly a way to make it fit. Whether it is the "optimum" setup or not is a different story.... [​IMG]



    -Greg72

    '72 K5 Blazer - 427BB/TH350/NP205/6" Lift/35x12.50's
    <font color=blue>See it here: </font color=blue><a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/albun38>http://coloradok5.com/gallery/albun38</a>
     
  14. Hossbaby50

    Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Posts:
    8,972
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    Re: Installed the \"NEW\" 850 CFM Q-Jet today......BUT....need help!

    WHat carb is on your truck now? If it is a square bore(Holley) then you can get an adapter plate to mount a spreadbore(Qjet) on your performer. Depending on the manifold you have it might fit with no problems. I had my Qjet on an Edelbrock Performer on my last engine with no adapter.

    My Chevy isn't broken, its just out of gas.
     
  15. RaisedK5

    RaisedK5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    932
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Beach, CA
    Re: Installed the \"NEW\" 850 CFM Q-Jet today......BUT....need help!

    Greg, so the filter retainer/nut/fitting deal is in there, you just need to coonnect a rubber fuel line to the female flare in the fitting right??? That should be just regular steel fuel line, get a fuel line from pepboys, looks just like brake line, and chop off the end, thread that into the fitting and that gives you a stub of steel line to which you attach the rubber line. Does that make sense??

    Leland aka RaisedK5

    "The Voices told me to do it!"
    <a target="_blank" href=http://www.coloradok5.com/gallery/albun91>This is what they told me to do</a>
     
  16. Greg72

    Greg72 "Might As Well..." Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Posts:
    15,683
    Likes Received:
    1,392
    Location:
    642 Days to BB2018
    Re: Installed the

    Actually, I went over to Frey Racing and got some nice blue-anodized fittings for it. EARL's makes them....it was the threaded part to go into the carb, and then another adapter to change over to a standard "push-on" style fuel line. $13.

    Not bad.....and I'm much calmer now! [​IMG]

    BTW -&gt; Got the carb all hooked up and started the truck. It is running but it needs to have the idle mixture stuff set properly and I don't own a vaccuum gauge........SLOWLY, but surely......I'm getting there!

    I'll post pics of everything once the "Members Area" is back on-line. [​IMG]



    -Greg72

    '72 K5 Blazer - 427BB/TH350/NP205/6" Lift/35x12.50's
    <font color=blue>See it here: </font color=blue><a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/albun38>http://coloradok5.com/gallery/albun38</a>
     
  17. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,980
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    Re: Installed the

    Idle mix isn't TOO tough, screw one side in until the engine stumbles, back off a bit, go to the other screw, same thing, until you get them as low as they will go with good idle. Of course have to mess with idle speed screw as you do this, but sans vacuum gauge, I believe this method will work fine for you.

    Dorian
    My tech/links page: <a target="_blank" href=http://www.dorianyeager.com/index2.html>www.dorianyeager.com/index2.html</a>
    Why insist on counting when the ring gear has the tooth counts stamped in?
     
  18. Greg72

    Greg72 "Might As Well..." Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Posts:
    15,683
    Likes Received:
    1,392
    Location:
    642 Days to BB2018
    Re: Installed the

    Dorian,

    Idle was actually a HUGE problem today!

    Here's what happened......

    1. Warm up the engine so that the choke isn't active
    2. Set the idle at a reasonable speed (~850RPM)
    3. Turn Idle Mixture screws to change RPM......nothing happens....
    4. Try the other idle screw nothing happens....
    5. Check for a vaccuum leak.....everything is OK
    6. Hook up gas analyzer to tailpipe......(HC = 600+ppm with idle screws COMPLETELY closed!) GROSS POLLUTER!
    7. Check vaccuum at the carb......almost NO vaccuum signal at all.
    8. Check float levels....appear to match the .300" specification in the manual
    9. Remove carb....base of gasket between the two idle adjustment screws is soaked with fuel.
    10. DOES THIS CARB HAVE A LEAK IN IT'S BASE/CASTING?????

    I'm REALLY lost here guys....my neighbor (who is a mechanic) says I should have like ~50 inches of vaccuum normally.....and I've got next to NONE. The tailpipes are PITCH BLACK from fuel, and the idle screws are completely CLOSED. Floats do not appear to be set too high.....

    Any other ideas why this carb is dumping so much fuel? I'm tempted to think it's just a BAD carb and get a replacement sent right away, unless someone has an idea here..... [​IMG]



    -Greg72

    '72 K5 Blazer - 427BB/TH350/NP205/6" Lift/35x12.50's
    <font color=blue>See it here: </font color=blue><a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/albun38>http://coloradok5.com/gallery/albun38</a>
     
  19. RaisedK5

    RaisedK5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    932
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Beach, CA
    Re: Installed the

    It sounds like its Idleing on the primaries instead of the idle circuit. Look up in a book or if you still have the factory aircleaner it could be on there for the lean drop idle. There should be two numbers. for my 75 its 700/600. And heres how you set the idle mix. Warm it up, block the vac advance and the charcoal can lines. adjust the idle stop screw to the higher number, turn the mix screws out until you reach the highest idle rpm you can, mine i think went up to 850 or there abouts, readjust the stop screw to the higher number, (bring the idle back down) then screw the mix screws in, in equal amounts until you bring it down to the lower number. This should set the lean drop, it should then be idleing on the idle circuit and the mix will be set, you can hook up the vac gauge and you should also see that you get the desired vac signature. Thats the factory meathod straight out of my shop manual ( although simplified) for setting the mix. see if that helps, cause it sounds like its just idleing on the primaries and sucking too much gas.

    Leland aka RaisedK5

    "The Voices told me to do it!"
    <a target="_blank" href=http://www.coloradok5.com/gallery/albun91>This is what they told me to do</a>
     
  20. Mike87

    Mike87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2000
    Posts:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Jose, CA, USA
    Re: Installed the

    If you have no vacuum (or low vacuum) signal at the carb, then the power valve is probably open, meaning it is dumping extra fuel in. You may have to put a lower force spring in for the power valve. I had the same prob with the monster cam (not my intention to put that in) in my SB. I change out the cam, got the vacuum up to 15+ and all was good again.

    Highly recommend the Rochester book by Doug Roe. It explains all the inner workings of the Q-jet and how to fix the problems. It is well worth the $15.

    Good Luck,
    Mike
     

Share This Page