Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

installing drop blocks for sway bar

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by NEK5, Dec 15, 2006.

  1. NEK5

    NEK5 3/4 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Posts:
    9,843
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Ipswich MA
    Ok, I was giving these drop blocks for the swaybar by a member here that i bought the ORD discos from. So I gave them to my buddy, who has a 4 inch lift, and yesterday we tried to get the to work but we couldn`t get the mounts to line back up, and from the looks of it, it actually looks like it will bind it up even more:confused:

    These are the blocks here..
    [​IMG]
     
  2. JEBSR

    JEBSR 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Posts:
    1,541
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    my drop brackets are angled with offset holes. moves the bar down and back to compensate. Those are totally differant.
     
  3. NEK5

    NEK5 3/4 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Posts:
    9,843
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Ipswich MA
    got any pics?
     
  4. gmc4cw

    gmc4cw 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Posts:
    3,907
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    west chester, Pa
    for everything to line up you either need ones that move the sway bar back or drop it the same amount as the lift. the problem is that GM should have put some type of endlink on the swaybar. your springs have shackles so that the springs can lengthen as they are compressed. the sway bar needs something too. As the spring compresses the sway bar will keep the spring and axle from moving backwards causing bind. throw the blocks away and get another set of disco's or ditch the swaybar.
     
  5. JEBSR

    JEBSR 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Posts:
    1,541
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    yes, but unfortunately they are at home and I am not. I'll try to find a pick where I bought them.
     
  6. NEK5

    NEK5 3/4 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Posts:
    9,843
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Ipswich MA
    ok, I doubt that he`ll ditch the swaybar. I`ll see what he wants to do...
     
  7. pauly383

    pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Posts:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mesa , Arizona USA
    4 pieces of stock with holes drilled , some extra bushings , and a couple through bolts , Copy the disco kit kinda that way . Hell you could use some hitch pins on the bolts instead of nuts .

    I would find the discos myself . Easier that way .
     

Share This Page