Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

installing lift ?'s

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by wahbob, May 1, 2002.

  1. wahbob

    wahbob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Posts:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin,Texas
    installing lift ?\'s

    I am installing my 4" rough country lift. Springs in front and blocks in the back(i know, i know). Anyway when some of you were installing your front springs did you have to remove the brake lines to install them? My axle doesnt seem to be down far enough for me to put the new ones on, the only way i see is to disconnect the lines because they are at their limit. If so how the hell do seperate it from the frame???? I took the clip off of the frontside of the frame---now what.?.??
    Thanks in advance,
    Mike B.
     
  2. Seventy4Blazer

    Seventy4Blazer 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Posts:
    5,634
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Escondido, CA
    Re: installing lift ?\'s

    remove the callipers. not the lines. this way you dont have to bleed them again.
    grant
     
  3. wahbob

    wahbob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Posts:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin,Texas
    Re: installing lift ?\'s

    Cool Thanks.
     
  4. 79Beast

    79Beast 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2001
    Posts:
    1,155
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia
    Re: installing lift ?\'s

    Remove the calipers, but after the install, make sure that you have enough slack in your lines at full droop. If not, you may have to route them under the frame instead of through.
     
  5. MudbogAD

    MudbogAD 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Posts:
    672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Las Vegas Nevada, US
    Re: installing lift ?\'s

    we didn't have to remove the lines on my friends sub to install his 4" procomp lift.
     
  6. 79Beast

    79Beast 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2001
    Posts:
    1,155
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia
    Re: installing lift ?\'s

    I'm not suggesting removing the lines to install the lift. I am saying that you need to check them at full droop. If they are tight, you need to address that issue.
     
  7. wahbob

    wahbob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Posts:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin,Texas
    Re: installing lift ?\'s

    Thanks everyone for the quick reply.
    Much appreciated
     

Share This Page