Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Installing subs into a vehicle with a stock headunit?

Discussion in 'Audio' started by zcarczar, Oct 25, 2004.

  1. zcarczar

    zcarczar 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Apple Valley California
    I want to add a couple subs to my new truck, but I dont want to install a new head unit. Anybody have any experience doing this? If it matters its an '03 silverado, and are there any kits that plug into the radio that let me do this or do i need to run line output convertors?
     
  2. Z3PR

    Z3PR Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Posts:
    19,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Everywhere
    Tap into the rear speaker wires with a line level converter.
     
  3. 83ZZ502_Jimmy

    83ZZ502_Jimmy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2001
    Posts:
    3,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
  4. zcarczar

    zcarczar 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Apple Valley California
    John, I dont have bose, but I do believe its amplified. Have you used one of those with success? I do like the ability for plug and play, especially since it makes it a lot easier to diagnose certain problems.
     
  5. 83ZZ502_Jimmy

    83ZZ502_Jimmy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2001
    Posts:
    3,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Sorry for the delay in replying....

    Anywho, I have used the PAC stuff before, it works well. Lots of people on the other pages I frequent, swear by this stuff.

    You may be able to use the OEM-2 from PAC.

    Regards,
    John
     
  6. sickquad

    sickquad 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Posts:
    785
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ma
    Why don't you want a new headunit? They're cheap, and make everything sound better.

    -Chris
     
  7. zcarczar

    zcarczar 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Apple Valley California
    The stock headunit is interfaced with a lot of things on the new trucks, and I dont want to have to deal with all of the headaches that come with this stuff. Hell I work on these trucks everyday so I know what can happen when you remove something important like that.
     
  8. sickquad

    sickquad 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Posts:
    785
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ma
    I think Crutchfield has harnesses that solve the problem of radios interfacing with other stuff. Check them out.
     
  9. zcarczar

    zcarczar 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Apple Valley California
    Yeah I know about the harnesses, I just dont want to deal with it. I see problems with the aftermarket radio's almost everyday at work. Stock sounds just fine for me, it just needs a little bump.
     
  10. four_by_ken

    four_by_ken 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2001
    Posts:
    3,806
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Allenton, MI
    Or, just buy an amp that speaker level inputs. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

    Also, some EQs also have speaker level inputs to them. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     

Share This Page