Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Intel or AMD

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by hunterguy86, Apr 26, 2006.

?

AMD or INTEL

  1. AMD

    23 vote(s)
    60.5%
  2. Intel

    10 vote(s)
    26.3%
  3. Im nekked and use an abacus

    5 vote(s)
    13.2%
  1. hunterguy86

    hunterguy86 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,477
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Marcos, Texas
    Im looking to start building a computer.
    Just as the title says what do you prefer, AMD or Intel?

    This is gonna be for playing some games but mostly for running CAD programs, photo editing and video editing

    I will be doing a lot of multitasking with the machine.

    I want to build a fast, reliable machine that wont be outdated next week. I want this to last for a while.
     
  2. Muddytazz

    Muddytazz 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Posts:
    20,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salem, Or.
    AMD all the way. I do the same thing, play a game or two now and then but mostly for cad/cam stuff. I couldn't be happier. Works better than my old Intel stuff.
     
  3. MNorby

    MNorby 3/4 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2001
    Posts:
    6,127
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    Powell, Wy
    AMD 'cause that's what Mike said would work best it it works very well!
     
  4. ak bandit

    ak bandit 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2004
    Posts:
    386
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Eagle River, Alaska
    AMD for sure. More bang for your buck.
     
  5. Beast388

    Beast388 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2001
    Posts:
    3,039
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Clinton, IA USA
    AMD for sure. Although the upcoming Conroes from Intel look promising.

    I just finished my AMD Athlon 64 3700, Epox mobo, 1gb RAM, 250gb HD, 128mb 6600gt, etc etc build in February of this year. I run Solidworks and AutoCAD 2000 on it with ease. I also play Quake 4 and Call of Duty 2 as well.

    This machine blows my 3.2ghz P4 work PC out of the water.:D
     
  6. CustomChevy

    CustomChevy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Posts:
    4,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    you want to multitask


    AMD Athlon 64 DUAL CORE 4400+
     
  7. hunterguy86

    hunterguy86 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,477
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Marcos, Texas
  8. CustomChevy

    CustomChevy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Posts:
    4,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    thats a very solid processor.


    slap that into an A8R-MVP32

    with a little paid of 512 sticks of DDR400

    and a little bit of ATI Readon (pick ur price range here)

    and some PHAT SATA HDD ;ubbin (seagate's)

    and you got a solid system.



    MAKE SURE YOU DONT SKIMP ON THE POWERSUPPLY WITH THAT PROCESSOR!@!#$#@%#$^#@!#*!~@#*!#$@
     
  9. hunterguy86

    hunterguy86 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,477
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Marcos, Texas
    as far as the powersupply goes I was looking at this case that has a power supply in it.

    http://www.newegg.com/product/product.asp?item=N82E16811154013

    Here's what else I've picked out so far:

    -motherboard
    http://www.newegg.com/product/product.asp?item=N82E16813153030

    -harddrive
    http://www.newegg.com/product/product.asp?item=N82E16822136010

    -CD/DVD drive
    http://www.newegg.com/product/product.asp?item=N82E16827101008

    What do yall think so far?

    I havent decided on RAM, a sound card or a vid card yet
     
  10. hunterguy86

    hunterguy86 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,477
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Marcos, Texas


    Thats all greek to me man :D:D

    I'm a real newbie at this.

    I did catch the SATA part bout the hard drive though :)
     
  11. CustomChevy

    CustomChevy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Posts:
    4,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

    A8R-MVP32 is a motherboard made by asus

    pair of 215 DDR400 means 2 512 MB sticks of the fastest DDR available (400mhz)

    ATI Raedon is a videocard type. basicly pick a price range here and get the best card they offer in that range.

    and seagate SATA drive(s)
     
  12. RingMaster4x4

    RingMaster4x4 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Posts:
    2,049
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bartlett, Texas
    go for the raptor sata (can you say 10,000 RPMs) drive I have a pair setup in a raid in my PC. It kick Ass and takes names. also get an SLI mainboard that way you can run two video card for faster performance. I have built lots of PC (it is my job) and I like Asus mainboards and gigabyte. I will say do not buy anything with MSI on it. the only jetway board that I have used is there magictwin board and it works good.
     
  13. CustomChevy

    CustomChevy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Posts:
    4,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

    why in god name did you take 2 imcredibly expensive hard drives and RAID them?!?!?!

    thats just silly.
     
  14. RingMaster4x4

    RingMaster4x4 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Posts:
    2,049
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bartlett, Texas
    why not it is a stripe raid so you have twice the bandwith to transfer data and the run at 10,000 RPMs. why is that silly?
     
  15. CustomChevy

    CustomChevy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Posts:
    4,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada


    because when one of those drives pops ... you're done.


    Take a look at some stuff ... you'll notice the staggering rate at which harddrives fail the faster their RPM's get.


    oh yeah ... and you only ended up with the space of one drives
     
  16. RingMaster4x4

    RingMaster4x4 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Posts:
    2,049
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bartlett, Texas
    I have been running mine for about 3 years now with noproblem I have a third hard drive that I store all my important stuff I just use the raid for programs.

    how do you end up with only space of one drive?

    I can muliti-task like you would not belive and never even see any slow down in the pc.
     
  17. RingMaster4x4

    RingMaster4x4 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Posts:
    2,049
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bartlett, Texas
    any way I was just giving him my 2 cents. just get a good board you can always upgrade later change cpu memory and HD later.
     
  18. jekbrown

    jekbrown I am CK5 Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 2001
    Posts:
    45,031
    Likes Received:
    366
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA, USA
    this is the CPU you want...

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103194

    its what I used in my recent build... along with an Arctic Cooler 64 and an ASUS mobo. This CPU runs cool and OC'd to 3.0 Ghz with absolutely no problems. I could prolly go even higher, cause my mobo has tons of OC options and the cooler is huge and works well.... but 3.0 has been rock solid, and I like stability! :thumb: Also, the 5000+ is a 65nm chip.... the CPU you listed is 90 nm. Combined with a 3850 gfx card, my current build uses less juice than my old PC did and it has a gazillion times mo' power. :grin:

    You do get more bang for the buck with an AMD chip, but if you want something more high end, I'd go Intel quad core. Thats what my dad used recently and whoa nelly is that sucker fast! :shocked:
     

Share This Page