Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

interior redeco job..... any thoughts HELP PLEASE:)

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Mr.LaHoyaSunset, Mar 20, 2003.

1. Mr.LaHoyaSunset

Mr.LaHoyaSunset Registered Member

Hey all, I am planning on taking some time this weekend and spring break and ripping out the interior carpeting of the truck, and redoing it. heres my question, Where do i find replacement carpeting.... it is currently light blue, and i was thinking of switching it to black. is it kosher to just go to a fabric store and cut it to fit? or how do i do that....... any insight would be GREATLY APPRECIATED as i am a rookie restorer...
    thanks a bunch guys , and gals:) /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif

2. Hossbaby50

Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status

You can buy preformed carpet kits for our trucks. LMC Truck carries them and JC Whitney does also among others. The are already formed to fit. They have the transmission hump and such preformed so the fit pretty well. All that you have to do is trim them to fit exactly.

I used the JC Whitney kit myself when I redid my carpet. It fit pretty well for the most part, but it did need a fair amount of final fitting to fit and look good. These places usually carry all the colors the factory put out. They might not be exact, but they are close.

3. jekbrown

jekbrown I am CK5 Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

one of the best things I ever did to my rig was rip out the interior and herculine the entire thing. If you are ready to spend the money it would take to do a really nice restoration... why not just line-X the thing instead? much more durable, much tougher, easier to clean, better at sound deadening etc.