Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

intermittent wipers?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by carolina k-5, Mar 30, 2005.

  1. carolina k-5

    carolina k-5 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Posts:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    columbia, S.C.
    my 77's wiper control options right now are off, low, high. what would it take to make them intermittent? just change the dash mount control? or would i have to swap the motor etc? welcome to south carolina, if you dont like the weather wait a couple hours.
     
  2. PhoenixZorn

    PhoenixZorn 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Posts:
    1,734
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    West Allis, WI
    I would like to know the same thing... TTT
     
  3. cochino12

    cochino12 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Posts:
    563
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Parker, Co
    You would need to swap the switch and also the under dash module. Motor is the same
     
  4. PhoenixZorn

    PhoenixZorn 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Posts:
    1,734
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    West Allis, WI
    Parts to be had at any local 'yard with a chevy in the lot eh?
     
  5. mouse

    mouse 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Posts:
    1,448
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Great Falls Mt
    The problem with using the factory pieces (something like 78-82ish) isn't that they will swap right in - they will- its that the brain box has a very high failure rate. When I was searching all the local junk yards for the required pieces I found a ton of the switches, but only 1 box. It was enough to convince me. I found an aftermarket control box/switch and went that route (but those too are hard to find). I couldn't find a commercial producer of the "kits" to convert to delay, one of the junk yards had a "new" unopened one from the 80's that I bought-works great.
     
  6. carolina k-5

    carolina k-5 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Posts:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    columbia, S.C.
    brain box? wheres that located on my truck?
     
  7. big jimmy 91

    big jimmy 91 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Posts:
    639
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northwestern Ontario Canada
    It should be located under the steering column , under the dash.
    It kind of looks like a small amp. for lack of a better description :grin:
     
  8. BranndonC

    BranndonC 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Posts:
    8,591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anaheim, Ca
    this post has kind of helped me, i've been bench testing and testing my wiper motor, hooked up the ground to the spot that it normally grounds out to the frame. actualy i tried a few grounds and a few power options, nothing made the motor turn over. do i need the "brain" to even just test my motor? Can i buy just the brain at a parts place? have the "off, low high" switch still, just not the brain between the switch and the motor
     
  9. BIG*RED

    BIG*RED 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Posts:
    1,094
    Likes Received:
    0
    i just got my new lmc catalogue today, and i flipped through it real quick and notice a kit to convert your non intermintent wipers to intermintent. if i recall corectly iy was under $60 bucks for everything.....


    just a thought..
     
  10. mouse

    mouse 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Posts:
    1,448
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Great Falls Mt
    If any of you guys have the '89 setup, I've got the control box for one - I don't need it.
     

Share This Page