Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Internet Anomaly

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by Resurrection_Joe, Nov 1, 2005.

  1. Resurrection_Joe

    Resurrection_Joe 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Posts:
    17,372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gettysburg, SD
    I can be nodding around on my DSL for a while after I start my comp (restart, I never turn it off) and I close firefox or it just sits there, and suddenly I get nothing but refused connections from every site I try to go to, or page I try to load. After a restart it's fine.

    Any help? C'mon guys... Over here.... hey a little help
     
  2. Cricket

    Cricket 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Posts:
    8,224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    Did you check the Firefox home page?

    Most of the glitchy solutions are there.
     
  3. Roz

    Roz 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Posts:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego
    strange, mine has just started the same thing. i use 2 different browsers too. ill let u know on the out come if i get it figured out befor u :)
     
  4. randy88k5

    randy88k5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lynchburg, VA, USA
    Are you running, or using a program that tries to use your internal modem? At my parents house I have problems running any browser because they still use dialup AOL. We have broadband too, I just cant get my mother to not use the AOL portal.

    Sometimes it will refuse connection because its still trying to use the dailup adapter. I have to maually turn it off each time I use the broadband.

    Just a thought.

    I also posted a hack for Firefox, to eke a little more bandwidth from your ISP:

    http://coloradok5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=152534

    At the bottom...
     
  5. Roz

    Roz 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Posts:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego
    its broadband and DSL
    my geeks here at work are working on the problem- kinda nice working in a nerd shop :D
     
  6. Roz

    Roz 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Posts:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego
    ok the nerds said it could be a security problem. for some reason the firewall or anti-virus is blocking them. the other problem could be the cash for files could be corrupt. solution: deleate and rebuild :(
     
  7. Resurrection_Joe

    Resurrection_Joe 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Posts:
    17,372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gettysburg, SD
    Try the links first, an answer in there seems to have fixed my problem




    http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?t=258042



    http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?t=155457





    WARNING the following is rather technical. If you DO NOT understand it, please do not try any of the following.
    II. DNS lookup fails. Most of the instances of Fx failing to load a webpage that can't be attributed to a misconfigured firewall are probably due to a failure by the ISP's DNS nameservers to resolve the hostname that one wishes to access. This could be caused by actual failure or misconfiguration or overloading of your ISP's DNS nameserver. When such a failure is intermittent, overloading of the server is a likely cause. Many broadband providers have experienced such intermittent failures lately. Examples are OptimumOnline, Verizon, Comcast, RCN, Roadrunner. Perhaps too many people have been signing up for broadband lately, and ISP's are running out of DNS server capacity.

    Sometimes, you will experience long load times if your DNS cache becomes corrupted or the address of your ISPs DNS server changes. It's always worth it to run: Start>Run> ipconfig /flushdns


    1) In Fx's URL field (the space into which you type a hostname) type http://www.google.com and hit <Enter>. If Fx can't load the Google homepage , then there is a problem. Now, clear the URL field, type http://64.233.167.147 and hit <Enter>. If Fx can load the Google homepage now, then the problem is failure of DNS lookup. If you have trouble getting through to Google but you can consistently reach it using the IP address, the problem is probably the DNS. DNS service may be intermittent. With an intermittent problem, it takes repeated tests to be sure. The DNS nameservers are there to convert the easy to remember hostname "www.google.com" to the IP address "64.233.167.147" that is actually used by the servers and routers on the Internet. If the nameserver is dead or nonresponsive, "www.google.com" will get you nowhere but "64.233.167.147" will bypass the nameserver and get you to Google more directly. You can also enter the command "nslookup www.google.com" on the command line, and see whether nslookup tells you that the request timed out ("cannot find server"). "Checking DNS issues "

    2. Call your ISP tech support and ask them whether any of the DNS nameservers that your machine automatically connects to through DHCP are experiencing problems (overloading or failure because of Internet attacks) and if so what they are planning to do about it. If you can't get satisfaction from them, discard their DNS nameservers and go to step 3.

    3. Rather than using your ISP's DNS nameservers, use stable, reliable and non-congested alternative nameservers such as public nameservers or those of a major university nearby. A list of public nameservers can be found here: http://www.broadbandreports.com/faq/7472 . Choose two from the list that are nearby. If you use a router add the DNS servers there.

    4. Treewalk :"You need TreeWalk DNS if: (ONLY Works for Windows)
    1. Accurately (resolving) Web Sites is a problem
    2. You wish to capture or debug DNS routing Data
    3. You want to custom configure DNS settings and Servers
    4. You'd like faster repeat visits to Sites (cached lookups)
    5. Your Internet Service Provider's (ISP) DNS Server is slow or offline
    6. You have problems with your wireless or satellite Internet connection"
    Download it here: http://ntcanuck.com/

    5. You can also add the IP address of sites you visit frequently to your HOSTS file. (This will also help speed up updates such as your Antivirus.)
    If you do not know the IP address try http://www.samspade.org


    Here is a way to show that the problem is due to DNS and not just FF.
    1. Find your host file in c:\windows or
    c:\windows\system32\drivers\etc depending on your version
    2. add a line for one of your favourite sites, like
    140.211.166.9 forums.mozillazine.org
    3. Save the hosts file and restart FF.
    4. Go to that site. If you can now get there on the first try, you know that DNS is at fault.
     

Share This Page