Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

intertubes in a dd?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by WakeBoard&4X4er, Jun 21, 2003.

  1. WakeBoard&4X4er

    WakeBoard&4X4er 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2000
    Posts:
    2,325
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lee's Summit, Mo
    This weekend i sliced the side wall in my 35 inch tires. they have about 20K on them and have about half tread. what do you think about putting a tube in there with a patch on the side wall? I was just think that this would be a spare, b/c i have a tires (different) with about the same tread not the same brand, that i could put on the rim and run this if i cut a different tire.

    I have a friend that runs slick on this car when he want to hit it hard... and they run tubes... so...

    any input would be good.

    thanks

    brett
     
  2. Storm Trooper

    Storm Trooper 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2000
    Posts:
    4,640
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Dillon Colorado, Hang'in in the mountains. Renting
    Why not? I keep a spare tube in my tool box just in case.
    If I cut mine I would use it as a spare. I would avoid any hwy use with it if you had to use it as a spare though.
     
  3. leadfoot067

    leadfoot067 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 14, 2001
    Posts:
    1,563
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    puyallup, washington
    i cut the sidewall of my sx and used a large sidewall patch and a tube and that was over a year ago .......havent had any trouble yet /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  4. 69K5

    69K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Posts:
    1,544
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Monroe, LA
    ive had 4 tubes for 2 years now and no problems. twice in the 2 years the rimes have rubbed a small hole in the tube. both times they got patched for like 3.00 i have old rims and probably wouldnt have probs if they werent rusty. but i have new rims coming. i have 33 x 10.50 x 16

    nmathan
     
  5. WakeBoard&4X4er

    WakeBoard&4X4er 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2000
    Posts:
    2,325
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lee's Summit, Mo
    what size was your slice? mine is about 2 inchs
     
  6. fourwheelerjeff

    fourwheelerjeff 1/2 ton status Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2001
    Posts:
    3,419
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    meadow, tx; in the boonies
    a long time ago, people used to run tubes in everything, remember split rims, you had to run a tube, i am thinking of running some in some tires that are weather rotted and won't hold air /forums/images/graemlins/crazy.gif
     
  7. Sinful_Nature

    Sinful_Nature Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Posts:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Raymond, NH
    I have one that is dry rotted, which I'm slapping a tube in. it will become my spare. I was talking to a buddy of mine the other day and he warned me to ensure the rim was clean (no dirt or rust). Thought I would pass along the info.
     
  8. boggerless

    boggerless 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Posts:
    22,728
    Likes Received:
    96
    Location:
    dearborn heights, Michigan
    damn, i all most had this post sent, i hit backspace and the thing sent me to a PM isent 1/2 hr ago. anyway i had tubes in 3 of my 40's for over two years freeways, offroad,etc. with no problems. as long as they are not radials. /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gifto /forums/images/graemlins/truck.gif
     
  9. WakeBoard&4X4er

    WakeBoard&4X4er 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2000
    Posts:
    2,325
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lee's Summit, Mo
    Why not radials??? that is what i have... donlop mts
     
  10. WakeBoard&4X4er

    WakeBoard&4X4er 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2000
    Posts:
    2,325
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lee's Summit, Mo
    Thanks all, i think /forums/images/graemlins/thinking.gif i am going to call around about have the tire patched, volconised (sp/forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif), and tubed. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

    I called one place and they told me they would do it but they think it is not the best idea. /forums/images/graemlins/rolleyes.gif I hope that i can run this tire .... but we will see. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

    Thanks!

    brett

    if any one else want to add there $.02 COOL /forums/images/graemlins/pimp1.gif!!!!!!!!!!
     
  11. 6.2Blazer

    6.2Blazer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2000
    Posts:
    4,675
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Ohio
    We have guys in our club with good luck fixing sidewall cuts with a boot (i.e. sidewall patch). Not a lot of places still do this so look around, a shop that does big truck or ag equipment tires might be the best bet.

    For tubes, you need to get one that is specifically designed for radial tires. A standard bias-ply tube will probably not hold up because of the extra flex and heat generation of the radial.
     

Share This Page