Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

IROC 350 TPI Set-up

Discussion in 'General Parts for Sale' started by ZZ4x4, Oct 10, 2003.

  1. ZZ4x4

    ZZ4x4 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2001
    Posts:
    542
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Garland, TX
    Complete TPI set-up from an '87 IROC 350. Purchased from another CK5 member. Had all parts hot-tanked and plenum has been polished. All injectors test OK electrically. See photo: http://jt-k5.rockcrawler.com/TPI/TPISetup.jpg . Note that harness and misc hardware is included but not pictured. $400 shipped to your door (lower 48 states)or trade for winch.
    Jeff /forums/images/graemlins/usaflag.gif
     
  2. BadBowtie1

    BadBowtie1 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    Posts:
    456
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mill City,OR
    what year of Iroc was this off of?
     
  3. ZZ4x4

    ZZ4x4 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2001
    Posts:
    542
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Garland, TX
    It's from a 1987 IROC 350.
     
  4. DaveCowley

    DaveCowley 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2002
    Posts:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Provo, UT, USA
    Is that a mass air flow sesnor off to the left, anyone know how much it is to have a harness and cpu built so you do not have to run the maf?
     
  5. ZZ4x4

    ZZ4x4 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2001
    Posts:
    542
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Garland, TX
    It is a MAF sensor. Are you referring to converting to a Speed Density system? Could probably get the parts on ebay pretty cheap...
     
  6. DaveCowley

    DaveCowley 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2002
    Posts:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Provo, UT, USA
    I was under the impression from robbzilla that the maf sensor causes problems on the trail, any opinions?, i am seriously interested
     
  7. ZZ4x4

    ZZ4x4 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2001
    Posts:
    542
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Garland, TX
    Persnally, I haven't heard this before. A ton of off-roaders are using this set-up. The MAF set-up is easy because it doesn't require a software/ECU change with different engines and mods due to the fact it measures the incoming air, and outgoing exhaust (O2 sensor), and adjusts fuel to give the proper mixture.
    It also goes into a "burn-off cycle" which burns off dust and contaminants from the MAF after each use. Don't know why it wouldn't be good offroad.
    A speed density system requires a custom ECU/programming since every engine mod changes the fuel curve requirement.
    Just my .02, but I really don't want to get into a MAF vs SD system debate on this post /forums/images/graemlins/tongue.gif.
    Still for sale...
    Jeff /forums/images/graemlins/usaflag.gif
     
  8. Nonesuch

    Nonesuch 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2001
    Posts:
    1,467
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin(Leander), TX
    I agree totally. MAF is the best way to go if you dont want to burn new chips for the ECM every time the weather changes. Also dont have to worry about elevation changes when wheeling in different areas. Most of the new FI systems use MAF now, including the vette.
     
  9. ZZ4x4

    ZZ4x4 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2001
    Posts:
    542
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Garland, TX
  10. BayouBlazer88

    BayouBlazer88 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2002
    Posts:
    353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lafayette, LA
    will this fit GM vortec style heads without any mods? and is it still available?
     
  11. tecton

    tecton 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Posts:
    1,553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    WV
    im interested as well
     
  12. Nonesuch

    Nonesuch 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2001
    Posts:
    1,467
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin(Leander), TX
    A stock TPI manifold will not bolt up to Vortec heads. An aftermarket manifold will be required. You can find one at www.sdpc2000.com
     
  13. dodgedude99

    dodgedude99 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2003
    Posts:
    784
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    burbia of illinois
    damn and to think i passed a whole TPI setup at the Pick N Pull for $135.
     

Share This Page