Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Is Carb Adjustable???

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Canuck, Jun 2, 2000.

1. Canuck

Canuck 1/2 ton status

I have an 86' K5 Silverado (totally stock/original). The truck is running extremely rich and I'm sure we all know Blazers are not the best on gas normally. You can litterally smell the unburnt gas exiting the exhaust. My buddy looked at the carb (since I am not an expert) and told me that the carb is non adjustable as far as the air/fuel mixture is concerned. Was he just lazy or is it not adjustable??? Any input would be appreciated.

Canuck

2. 83K5

83K5 Registered Member

If it has a carb there is tool that will drill out the plugs covering the mixture screws . You can get one from JC Whitney or a Napa store .

3. Eagle86K5

Eagle86K5 1/2 ton status

The fuel /air adjusment needles are set from the factory and plugged. Take the carb off and you can drill them out. Good time to rebuild while you have it off...

<font color=green>[​IMG]Eagle86K5[​IMG]<font color=red>
    Masonry...It's a Good Thing
    2B1ASK1

4. Blazer1970

Blazer1970 1/2 ton status

The idle adjustment is factory set, and therefore, it is most likely set right. You need to rebuild your carb, as something else is wrong with it. You do not want to try to compensate by adjusting the idle mixture.

Tim

1970 Blazer CST 4X4 350 SM465 NP205
    1987 Suburban 4X4 350
    1988 Chevy Pickup 4X4 350

5. Grim-Reaper

Grim-Reaper 3/4 ton status Author