Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Is it just me? Timing out

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by Desert Rat, Jun 29, 2006.

  1. Desert Rat

    Desert Rat Fetch the comfy chair

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Posts:
    16,250
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Tri-Valley, NorCal
    I am a bit pissed off. I am logged in, I write a big long response to a post in a thread, and I go to submit it. The log in screen pops up telling me I am not logged on. This of course then dumps my post that I wrote. What is up with this? For some reason this has been happening a lot lately. I can be surfing CK5 for a while, go to write a post, and find out I have been logged out. Very frustrating. Anybody else have this happen to them? I used to write my stuff in Word first, then post it. I guess I have to go back to that. Not something I find appealing.
     
  2. CustomChevy

    CustomChevy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Posts:
    4,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    hrm ... not really sure off the top of my head. To be honest, I don't think I even remember my password here, as I just stay logged in (even if I've been away for a day or so).



    what security software do you run (anti-spyware) ... it might be deleting the cookie that keeps your login info?
     
  3. Desert Rat

    Desert Rat Fetch the comfy chair

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Posts:
    16,250
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Tri-Valley, NorCal
    I've got several running, but they've been running for a long time and this never happend before. Besides, it happens to me at work as well. I'm checking my user settings, but don't see anything that would seem to be a problem. I haven't changed anything in a long time.
     
  4. CustomChevy

    CustomChevy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Posts:
    4,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    I'm not sure what to tell ya. Thats a strange problem.

    I wonder if something as simple as unchecking and re-checking the remember me box beside the login would help
     
  5. cbbr

    cbbr 1 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Posts:
    14,681
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    High velocity, Low altitude
    I'm not having a problem either at work or home, so I would guess that it is something on your end. Can't help with what.
     
  6. joez

    joez 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Posts:
    2,512
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Lenox, Illinois
    Ive been having problems with both CK5 and Towrig.com crashing firefox on me. It does it randomly, and only on these two sites. I dont know what the problem is, but its getting pretty frustrating.
     
  7. JOEDEZZY

    JOEDEZZY 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Posts:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    TUCSON, AZ
    That used to happen to me on other forums when I had dial up
     
  8. shewheeler

    shewheeler 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Posts:
    3,384
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hollister, CA
    Maybe you should quit writing such long replys ;) :D :p:
     
  9. theperfectgarage

    theperfectgarage 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    988
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    tucson arizona
    I'ts happened to me twice, pisses me off.
     
  10. 78Suburban

    78Suburban 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,609
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia
    DesertRat, did you delete your cookies or temp files recnetly? Next time you log in check "remember my password" :waytogo:
     
  11. theperfectgarage

    theperfectgarage 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    988
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    tucson arizona
    I wonder if its time based, my stupid job sometimes gets in the way of my ck5 work, and I may take 2 hours to write something.
     
  12. 78Suburban

    78Suburban 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,609
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia
    :bow: :bow: :bow:
     
  13. Leper

    Leper 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Posts:
    4,437
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas Baby!!!!
    Or learn to type more than three words a minute.
     
  14. theperfectgarage

    theperfectgarage 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    988
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    tucson arizona
    Thats the best I can manage with these beat up paws.:o :D
     
  15. Cricket

    Cricket 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Posts:
    8,224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    A good response should last as long as your typical orgasm. That's why mine are all one liners. :D
     
  16. CustomChevy

    CustomChevy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Posts:
    4,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

    amen




    :(
     
  17. jarheadk5

    jarheadk5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2000
    Posts:
    4,389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PA
    I remember when Steve first switched over to the new (vB ??) forum software, that happened to me pretty often. I ended up hitting "Preview Post" periodically if I found myself writing a novel, and it seemed to stop the problem. It stopped happening to me eventually...
     
  18. ntsqd

    ntsqd 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2002
    Posts:
    3,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    So. CA
    I had that exact same experience, but wasn't smart enough to figure out the preview part.
     

Share This Page