Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Is It Possible...Does it

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by jones, Apr 1, 2007.

  1. jones

    jones 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    Posts:
    379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IONIA,MI USA
    Is it possible to re-drill 6-lug wheels to be 8-lug by drilling between the holes?

    Does the memory wire on my stereo go to a constant or switched hot?
     
  2. mr.smartass

    mr.smartass 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Posts:
    10,860
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Hattiesburg, MS
    :confused:

    Probably not safe to drill more holes in a wheel... unless you welded some more metal on it, and then it might not balance out... doesn't sound like a good idea, you can get a set of 8lug steel rims for hellacheap.

    The memory wire goes to a constant power source, keeps your stations saved and clock right and whatever else...
     
  3. 1977k5

    1977k5 3/4 ton status Vendor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Posts:
    9,992
    Likes Received:
    130
    No way on the wheels
     
  4. Chrisblazzer89

    Chrisblazzer89 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    1,966
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts 02301
    Hey guys my radio need a constant hot for my memory what wire under the ash would be constant hot?
     
  5. JEBSR

    JEBSR 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Posts:
    1,541
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    There should be a spot on the fuse box that says batt with a male spade connecter. Plug into that and you should be good.
     
  6. Chrisblazzer89

    Chrisblazzer89 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    1,966
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts 02301
    Might be a dumb ? but whats a male spade conector?
    PIC?
     
  7. JEBSR

    JEBSR 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Posts:
    1,541
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    Looks like the connecter on a speaker.[​IMG] You will only see the flate piece as the rest of the connector is on the backside of the fuse box.
     
  8. 54inches

    54inches 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Posts:
    1,535
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Are these questions for real?:rolleyes:
     
  9. Clod_King

    Clod_King 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,094
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grimsby Ontario
    Me and my buddy ran his to the cigarette lighter wire. Is that NOT a good idea??
     
  10. Chrisblazzer89

    Chrisblazzer89 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    1,966
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts 02301
    Kool thanx that will help. I hate surfing tru channels everytime i want to listen to music after I turn my truck off:D
     
  11. mr.smartass

    mr.smartass 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Posts:
    10,860
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Hattiesburg, MS
    Yeah that's why I started it with a :confused: ... was thinking the same thing.
     
  12. 54inches

    54inches 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Posts:
    1,535
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Good I was not the only one, I mean both questions are borderline SCARY!
     
  13. daleearnhardt01

    daleearnhardt01 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,223
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Yeah seriously, how would the radio keep memory if the power was switched on and off???
     
  14. dhcomp

    dhcomp 3/4 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2001
    Posts:
    9,859
    Likes Received:
    282
    Location:
    Truckee, CA
    If your cig lighter works when the truck is off, this will be fine.
     
  15. jones

    jones 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    Posts:
    379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IONIA,MI USA
    YEAH! What of it?:p:
    Question "A" was directed to me by someone else and I gave him an answer then decided to be sure by consulting the Brotherhood.
    Question "B" was my own inquiry because I've never installed a stereo before.Or anyother electronics for that matter. I've had my truck for 4yrs. and the stereo for 3 1/2 of the 4. I just decided to do it this past weekend for a chuckle. Now it's insalled,all is good and just like question "A", I was just being sure.

    Once again....:p:
    :haha: :haha:
    Oh,Thanks for answering the Noob Q's,Guys.

    For future reference: If you have power window wiring under the dash still after you've swapped the guts to manual, the hot wire for the power window switch is a constant hot also,which is where my tach is wired into.
     
  16. 54inches

    54inches 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Posts:
    1,535
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Time for me to unsubscribe.
     
  17. Clod_King

    Clod_King 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,094
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grimsby Ontario
    /\ /\ /\:haha: :haha: :haha: /\ /\ /\
     

Share This Page