Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Is it possible to mount a np241 to a th350

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by sickquad, Jan 24, 2005.

  1. sickquad

    sickquad 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Posts:
    785
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ma
    Is this possible? Is there an adapter plate available that anyone knows of? Advanced adapters doesn't have one. Are there any other companies that make adapter plates?

    Thanks
    -Chris
     
  2. 1979jimmy350

    1979jimmy350 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Posts:
    3,069
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ann Arbor Mi
    you will need a adapter output shaft. The stick out length on the 350 is only like a 1/4 of an inch. The bolt patterns on the rear of a 700 and 350 are the same so as long as you have a 241 off a 700 take the stock adapter for the 700 to 241 and get a longer output shaft from advance adapter and you should be ready to go. This does require the tear down of the tranny to install the shaft but Advanced adapters does make one for this aplication
    https://eshop.advanceadapters.com/commerce/catalog/product.jsp?product_id=1525&czuid=1106599190828

    it says it is for the 208 but the 208 and 241 will bolt to the same tranny
     
  3. sickquad

    sickquad 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Posts:
    785
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ma
    So I guess it's not that easy. I'm definitely not swapping shafts in my brand new tranny.

    I thought that the 208 and 241 were interchangable, but no one makes the plate for the 241. Has anyone compared the 208 and 241 before?

    If they are interchangeable, I wonder if a plate for the 208 would work if it had the right bolt pattern.

    Any help is appreciated.

    -Chris
     
  4. 1979jimmy350

    1979jimmy350 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Posts:
    3,069
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ann Arbor Mi
    no mater what you need a new output shaft for the 208 or 241. It really is not that hard to put the new output shaft in all you need is the new shaft and Four gaskets. The only tools that you will need are scokets and a pair of snap ring plyers.
     
  5. sickquad

    sickquad 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Posts:
    785
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ma
    Sounds like so much fun. I'll have to look into this. I guess it's always better to do it the right way, even though it's not the easiest thing to do.

    -Chris
     
  6. sickquad

    sickquad 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Posts:
    785
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ma
    Anybody have any information on how the shaft would be replaced? I've never ventured into a tranny much, just shift kits and torque converters.

    -Chris
     
  7. 1979jimmy350

    1979jimmy350 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Posts:
    3,069
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ann Arbor Mi
    if you can do a shift kit you should have no problem replacing a output shaft. you should buy the Haynes GM tranny techbook. It provides a lot of pictures and good instructions. Even takeing your time it should only take at most two hours
     
  8. thebigdaddyof2

    thebigdaddyof2 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2000
    Posts:
    2,053
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    The T350 to NP208 was a stock offering in the early 80s.

    If you want to put a 241 behind the T350, just find the right output shaft and the T350 to NP208 adaptor.

    The 208 and 241 are interchangable, as long as you watch the input spline.
    T350/700R4 = 27sp
    T400 = 32sp
     

Share This Page