Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

is it possible

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by 1986chevy_rider, Nov 9, 2005.

  1. 1986chevy_rider

    1986chevy_rider Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    fallon nv
    Is it possible to use a np205 behind a 465 tranny that has a 208 sittin behind it already with stretched out chain?
     
  2. koldsimer

    koldsimer 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Posts:
    1,480
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    texas
    It's possible, but you will have to change the shaft on your case or your transmission so they will match. I'm sure it's been discussed, but why doesn't anybody make adapter sleaves? Ya know, 10 spline on one side 28 on the other etc..
     
  3. atho

    atho 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Posts:
    1,115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wayne County, Ohio
    OR you could just find a NP205 with a 32 spline input & 6 bolt pattern circle and bolt it up. GM made a 32 spline 465/205 from '85-up in the K30s. The only issue is you would need something to pivot the shifter off of...NP205 adapters have the boss and stud.
     
  4. 1986chevy_rider

    1986chevy_rider Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    fallon nv
    what do you mean?

    Im sorry I dont know to much about chevy 4x4 stuff yet im new and I just know a few general type stuff that ive read off of a discussion type place like here for instance. is there any other options that may be easier for me to do. Ive got about 1700 dollars to do a new used drive train and that has to include 800 dollars worth of new tires. my plan is to go with light 3/4 ton axels and have some long bed 3/4 drive shafts made to fit my short bed k10 that is in the air about 6-8 in not sure thats how i got it. My reason for doin all this is because of all the sterring problems and grinding noises im getting from the t case
     
  5. Cornfield creations

    Cornfield creations 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Posts:
    1,283
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Jasper, Indiana
    I thought 80 was the last year of the 205, but was a slip yoke?
     
  6. 1HighK5

    1HighK5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Posts:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    Good luck finding a 205 with the round bolt pattern and the input shaft that matches the tranny. I looked two years and found nothing you could buy it but it would cost a good bit not worth it if ya ask me I just bought a 465/205 combo from a k30 and put the whole thing in. it was cheeper and way easier to find
     
  7. clarkjw24

    clarkjw24 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2003
    Posts:
    3,531
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    McBee, SC 29101
    Why not just buy another 208? I'm pretty sure there is one in the for sale section.
     
  8. 1986chevy_rider

    1986chevy_rider Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    fallon nv
    are 208 worth it

    Are they worth the troble. ive been told that they arnt.
     
  9. bajaviking

    bajaviking 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    Posts:
    752
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Baja
    The 208's are not bad, the have a good low range, they are lightweight and unless you plan on making big torque numbers I would not worry about having a 208. I have one in my beater Blazer and I wheel it pretty hard and so far no trouble at all. It is more likely that you will break u-joints and driveshafts before you break your 208.
     
  10. hawkeye649

    hawkeye649 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Posts:
    848
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Hamp-shi-ah
    Got two 700R4's, a 208 & I've got a NP241 - with a speedo cable. Pick your poison... NH and hate to ship big stuff. You can put a SYE kit on the 241 so you don't have the slip yoke. :wink1:

    GMC Graemlin
     
  11. 1986chevy_rider

    1986chevy_rider Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    fallon nv
    where is it that you live.

    How much does that 241 cost and really how much does the shipping cost from there to here. and can you explain the SYE stuff to me thanks
     
  12. 1986chevy_rider

    1986chevy_rider Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    fallon nv
    well right now

    My engine is puttin out about 350 HP and 400 ft pounds of torque. im not sure if that is alot for 4 wheelin but im only plannin on goin up.
     
  13. hawkeye649

    hawkeye649 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Posts:
    848
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Hamp-shi-ah
    You can email me about the t-case at papasmurf1990@hardcore4x4.com
    Check the tech section for the SYE stuff.

    GMC Graemlin
     
  14. nvrenuf

    nvrenuf NONE shall pass! Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Posts:
    13,079
    Likes Received:
    247
    Location:
    Mobile, Al.
    Nope, available thru '91. :thumb:
     

Share This Page