Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Is my driveshaft long enough?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by BigBen, Nov 14, 2002.

1. BigBen

BigBen 1/2 ton status Premium Member

OK, so that title is just asking for abuse... let's hear it.

Anyway, I'm new to CK5, but hope to help on this board as much as I ask... if possible.

I'm in the middle of converting my '74 K5 from a 350/TH350/NP203 to a 383/SM465/NP205. I got the donor parts from a junkyard, except the rear driveshaft. They didn't have one.

They did dig one up for me though that I just picked up this last weekend. Here's the problem though:

I now have the engine/tranny/T-case in.
    The shaft extends to about 42.375" center to center.
    The yoke distance, center to center, is 41.75".

While the shaft will fit at normal ride height, it will be hella close to the end of it's travel. A local shop estimated $150 to lengthen it to fit (Including balance and Spicers).

The question is, do I run it the way I have it, or be smart about it and get it lengthened. Thoughts?

I'm hoping to actually start the engine this weekend... so the time to make the driveshaft decision is drawing near.

BTW: if anyone has any ?'s about the swap, I'd be more than happy to share what I've learned.

Thanks,

-Ben

2. 87sm465np208

87sm465np208 1/2 ton status