Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Is the site faster?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by CK5, Apr 11, 2002.

  1. CK5

    CK5 In my underwear Administrator Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 1999
    Posts:
    21,623
    Likes Received:
    701
    Location:
    CO
    The CK5 server was upgraded from 1 gig of RAM to 2 gig of RAM that should hold us over untill the new faster version of the forum software is ready (should be next month) can you tell? Also let me know if you can't get on or it is slow, I would like to know.
     
  2. BorregoK5

    BorregoK5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2001
    Posts:
    2,457
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Marcos, Ca USA
    I'm getting a refresh about 3 times faster than before, sometimes four!

    Oh wow, and my posts go throught instantaniously! Sweet!
     
  3. UseYourBlinker

    UseYourBlinker 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2000
    Posts:
    11,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    .
    Alot better than before... Much faster response time!
     
  4. Mreetz

    Mreetz 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Posts:
    1,282
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Subs of Denver, Colorado
    Seems to be faster!!
     
  5. zakk

    zakk 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2001
    Posts:
    4,762
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Jose CA
    seems faster, but it is in the middle of the day. dinner time will be the real test.
     
  6. riz

    riz 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2000
    Posts:
    6,026
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    <font color=blue> so far , so good ......... time will tell.
     
  7. arq

    arq 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2001
    Posts:
    2,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Imperial Valley/Maricopa
    sure it is, well with the combination of your changes and the ones we made here(fractional to full T1), it seems like 1000000000 times faster/forums/images/icons/smile.gif

    ARQ.
     
  8. Michael

    Michael 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,576
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sherman, Texas
    It's a lot better! Now, how about that Netscape/readers rides problem....
     
  9. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
  10. CK5

    CK5 In my underwear Administrator Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 1999
    Posts:
    21,623
    Likes Received:
    701
    Location:
    CO
    I am working on getting a better gallery to replace the one we have now, I have to take a look and figure out how I want to set it up first, I might have a small amount of space for everyone and then more for members and then even more for a small price or might just have it for members like it is now, just have to look at a few things first.
     
  11. Danno

    Danno 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2001
    Posts:
    487
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rockford, IL
    Incredible speed difference (for the better) from what I can tell.

    2gigs of RAM? Yow... That's insane! /forums/images/icons/smile.gif
     
  12. NoSmog73

    NoSmog73 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2001
    Posts:
    2,348
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lodi,ca
    Knock on wood it seams faster but like zakk said dinner time will tell..My hats off to you steve good job so far...mike
     
  13. Z3PR

    Z3PR Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Posts:
    19,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Everywhere
    Seems pretty quick. I'm using a 1GHZ computer with a cable modem, so my end is pretty quick anyways.
     
  14. Pure Insanity

    Pure Insanity 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2001
    Posts:
    4,579
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dade City, Florida
    1135 east coast time and its working great. I have been on and off since 8 PM and havent had a problem yet. Other than a connection problem on my end that is.
     
  15. Can Can

    Can Can Pusher Man Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    15,552
    Likes Received:
    136
    Location:
    Cochrane, Alberta, Canada
    Like PI said, I made it through the regularly-scheduled/forums/images/icons/wink.gif "bad" time of 8 - 9:30 PM MST with absolutely NO problems for the first time in a couple of weeks. Hopefully that's it for the dead spots......./forums/images/icons/smile.gif
     

Share This Page