Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

is this bad (and what is this!)?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by amm888, Aug 10, 2002.

  1. amm888

    amm888 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2002
    Posts:
    309
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Woodland Hills, CA
    this wire next to my carb is loose (? - 1)...so i followed it and found this ball/chain disconnected over my driver's side wheel-well (? - 2). can anyone tell me what this thing does, and should i try and reconnect it? the truck seems to run fine...

    thanks for the help,
    alex

    [image]http://community.webshots.com/photo/45863608/46514419MvtAMv[/image]

    [image]http://community.webshots.com/photo/45863608/46514456dlXxjC[/image]
     
  2. amm888

    amm888 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2002
    Posts:
    309
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Woodland Hills, CA
    Re: is this bad?

    darn, the pics didn't work....
     
  3. amm888

    amm888 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2002
    Posts:
    309
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Woodland Hills, CA
    Re: is this bad?

    here are links to the pics

    pic 1

    pic 2
     
  4. mdm365

    mdm365 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2001
    Posts:
    536
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    mineral wells wv
    Re: is this bad?

    Well I do belive that is the cruze controll diafram.does the cruze controll work?
     
  5. amm888

    amm888 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2002
    Posts:
    309
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Woodland Hills, CA
    Re: is this bad?

    i didn't know i had cruise control (just got the truck a couple of weeks ago)...where is the switch? i've got a button at the very end of my turn signal lever, could that be it?
     
  6. k20

    k20 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Posts:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mineral Springs, NC
    Re: is this bad?

    yeh thats it, also there should be a for lack of a better term, slide lever lookin thing on the end, and words like off, on, set/resume my words are worn off but are shiny so u can see em still at the right angle. My cruise dont work i gotta fix it, but those are the controls.
     
  7. bigjbear

    bigjbear 1 ton status Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2000
    Posts:
    13,967
    Likes Received:
    448
    Location:
    Marietta GA
    Re: is this bad?

    Not on a '76. They use the old style, just a button on the end of the turnsignal lever. I know they changed it sometime between 1980-85, just don't remember the exact year.
     
  8. amm888

    amm888 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2002
    Posts:
    309
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Woodland Hills, CA
    Re: is this bad?

    no slide, no words, no nothin', just the button at the end...
     
  9. amm888

    amm888 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2002
    Posts:
    309
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Woodland Hills, CA
    Re: is this bad?

    so i take it the pics are of the cruise control? i'll hook it back up and see if she works (hope the engine don't blow-up!)

    thanks guys
     
  10. k20

    k20 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Posts:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mineral Springs, NC
    Re: is this bad?

    thats right, /forums/images/icons/crazy.gif , i 4get they didnt use the same one all the time. Losing my mind as we speak lol
     
  11. Tweetysuarus

    Tweetysuarus 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Posts:
    2,294
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lynnhood,WA
    Re: is this bad?

    Uh I sorry they used Both type switches on 76.........76 was the year that had split year parts. I have a 76 now and have had 3 others all had different styles of cruise control switches. Thats the facts Jack!
    Bill
     
  12. Grim-Reaper

    Grim-Reaper 3/4 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    7,385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Cruise. My 79 has the same set up. Press the button once to set it. Press it and hold it and it's Acel quick tap and it's off. If you had set it then hit the brakes it shuts off. It you tap the button then it's Resume.
    There is a couple switches on the brake peddle. One is the cruise and one is the brake lights. thos switches often get screwed up with age. Check those for age. The way it's wired the switch is pressed when your foot is off the brakes. If the switch is not pressed then the cruise will not engage. That was what was wrong with my 79 when I got it. once I fixed that it has worked great.
    If your on the hwy and you come to a stop after using the cruise. Get going about 30 MPH and hit the resume button that sucker will hit passing gear and punch it up to speed. Freaked me out the first time I did that. Though the throttle stuck and hit the brakes and it stopped. LOL hit it again and sure enough as soon as it got back up to speed it took it easy.
     
  13. Grim-Reaper

    Grim-Reaper 3/4 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    7,385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Just took a good close look at the second picture. The other thing with the vacume hoses comming out of it is the Crusise control speed pick up. Looks the the Cable is off it. The speedo cable routing will be from tranny to that modual then a second cable runs up to the speedometer. If the speedometer works then at some point a cable broke or the Cruise contorl modual locked up and it was by passed with a speedometer cable from a non cuise equipped truck.
    Look in your glove box and there should be a build sticker that shows all the options the truck came with.
     
  14. amm888

    amm888 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2002
    Posts:
    309
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Woodland Hills, CA
    thanks for the tips grim /forums/images/icons/smile.gif
     
  15. big d

    big d 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Posts:
    1,236
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    illinois
    hey grim,
    i found it interesting your info on the cruise control. i recently purchased the complete (or so i was told) cruise control kit (used) to put in my blazer which doesnt have cc. is there any way you could email me detailed pics of your complete system and tell me more about the break pedal switches. im not sure i have those, or is it just a wire to plug in ? ive kept all info related to this subject pertaining to our vehicles year i have come across on ck5. any help is greatly appreciated. thanks.
     
  16. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,978
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    Is the setup you bought from the same year as your truck? You sound like you aren't sure what year it is, and if its electric ('85 up?) it will be totally different from a '79.
     
  17. MudbogAD

    MudbogAD 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Posts:
    672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Las Vegas Nevada, US
    Thats the same setup on my 79. I need to get mine fixed though.
     
  18. big d

    big d 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Posts:
    1,236
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    illinois
    nope,nope. its not newer. its a 78' and is the same. i just have to buy a new push button wand. just need to know exactly where everything goes and how everything works and relates to each other. thanks.
     
  19. bigjbear

    bigjbear 1 ton status Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2000
    Posts:
    13,967
    Likes Received:
    448
    Location:
    Marietta GA
    Re: is this bad?

    I've never seen seen the new style on something that old that wasn't swapped in. My '80 and my old '78 both had only the button in the end of the stalk. Maybe the one with the big end was an option?
     

Share This Page