Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Is this only a ground junction?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by BigTex, Feb 23, 2002.

  1. BigTex

    BigTex 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2000
    Posts:
    974
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Texas
    Hey guys, is this thing just a ground?

    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/BigTex-Mean-Machine/abi>?????</a>

    Can I just replace it with ANY universal ground junction? I've had starting problems in the past because I need to replace that smaller red wire that runs to it because the ground it is making is not so good. So I'd like to replace the wire too. Also, does anyone know if that is just a fuse or fusible link there? What can I use to replace that?

    <font color=red>"PROCRASTINATE NOW!!!"</font color=red>

    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/BigTex-Mean-Machine>http://coloradok5.com/gallery/BigTex-Mean-Machine</a>
     
  2. sosamantx

    sosamantx 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2000
    Posts:
    393
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    somewhere in Texas
    it looks like a 12V junction, not a ground (i could be wrong), but you can tell by getting a test light or multimeter, that little black wire coming off of the right looks like it is grounded to the junction block bolt?? as for fusible link, i have no idea.

    <font color=blue>Steve Sosa a.k.a. "sosaman"</font color=blue>
    <a target="_blank" href=http://sosaman.home.texas.net/carpics.html>http://sosaman.home.texas.net/carpics.html</a>
     
  3. Skigirl

    Skigirl 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2001
    Posts:
    2,563
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    It's a stock junction block. You can get replacements at auto stereo shops sometimes, or starter shops. I would think that if it's grounding out you'd be having some major problems about now. But check it anyway.

    I would start by cleaning the terminals first, ensure all the connections are clean and secure, then check the electrical. And when you're cleaning the stuff, disconnect the battery. Some of that is hot.

    <font color=blue>Outside of a dog, a man's best friend is a book. Inside of a dog, it is very dark.</font color=blue> [​IMG]
     
  4. Michael

    Michael 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,576
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sherman, Texas
    OK, I would like to help but I can't see anyone's member gallery sites...Is it just me not being orange or netscape or.......?

    Michael[​IMG]
    <a target="_blank" href=http://www.jmartin.net/goose>www.jmartin.net/goose</a>
     
  5. Skigirl

    Skigirl 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2001
    Posts:
    2,563
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Michael, the photo is of the junction block on the firewall behind the air cleaner.

    <font color=blue>Outside of a dog, a man's best friend is a book. Inside of a dog, it is very dark.</font color=blue> [​IMG]
     
  6. BigTex

    BigTex 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2000
    Posts:
    974
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Texas
    Does it matter what I get or can I just use a universal-looking junction?

    <font color=red>"PROCRASTINATE NOW!!!"</font color=red>

    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/BigTex-Mean-Machine>http://coloradok5.com/gallery/BigTex-Mean-Machine</a>
     
  7. Skigirl

    Skigirl 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2001
    Posts:
    2,563
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    As long as it is a junction block, doesn't really matter. But there's really no need to replace it unless it's grounding out because of the backing or too corroded to clean. Replace the wiring that's bad and go from there.

    <font color=blue>Outside of a dog, a man's best friend is a book. Inside of a dog, it is very dark.</font color=blue> [​IMG]
     
  8. Skigirl

    Skigirl 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2001
    Posts:
    2,563
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    The wires coming off that block that I know about are: the black(and should have white) goes to the main fuse panel and should have a 4 amp inline fuse, not very far from the J block. The smaller red wire is a fusible link (16 gauge) that splices to a 12 gauge red wire that goes to the alternator. The larger (10 gauge) red wire goes to your solenoid/starter and before it gets there, at the solenoid/starter, splices to another fusible link, which is a 14 gauge wire. You can get replacement fusible links at almost any auto parts store. Just make sure you get the right size, which should be 2 sizes smaller than the wire you're connecting it to.

    <font color=blue>Outside of a dog, a man's best friend is a book. Inside of a dog, it is very dark.</font color=blue> [​IMG]
     
  9. Skigirl

    Skigirl 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2001
    Posts:
    2,563
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    BTW, that junction block doesn't function as a "ground". The frame, engine block and body are the grounds for everything. So the truck itself is the ground. Ground straps connecting these all together make it work. The junction block serves as a place to route power wires to different stuff.

    <font color=blue>Outside of a dog, a man's best friend is a book. Inside of a dog, it is very dark.</font color=blue> [​IMG]
     
  10. BigTex

    BigTex 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2000
    Posts:
    974
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Texas
    Yeah, I used a wrong choice of words. I'm by no means an "electronics guru" and to be quite honest, wires tend to freak me out a little.

    I replaced that junction block once from a junkyard donor because the one it had was pretty rusted already. I'm planning on replacing the wires because whenever I have starting problems, I just mess with those wires a little and it starts right up. Does it matter if I jump to a larger wire?

    Thanks for the help...

    <font color=red>"PROCRASTINATE NOW!!!"</font color=red>

    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/BigTex-Mean-Machine>http://coloradok5.com/gallery/BigTex-Mean-Machine</a>
     
  11. Skigirl

    Skigirl 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2001
    Posts:
    2,563
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Got it.

    I don't suppose it matters if you go to a larger wire, just make sure that the fusible links stay in the right ratio. No reason to go larger tho, just cost more.

    <font color=blue>Outside of a dog, a man's best friend is a book. Inside of a dog, it is very dark.</font color=blue> [​IMG]
     
  12. BigTex

    BigTex 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2000
    Posts:
    974
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Texas
    Thanks!

    <font color=red>"PROCRASTINATE NOW!!!"</font color=red>

    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/BigTex-Mean-Machine>http://coloradok5.com/gallery/BigTex-Mean-Machine</a>
     

Share This Page