Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

I've made the appointment to get a 14FF installed :) a few q's

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by BranndonC, Feb 18, 2003.

1. BranndonC

BranndonC 3/4 ton status

I\'ve made the appointment to get a 14FF installed :) a few q\'s

Ok, i drop off my truck at www.GMTruckcenter.com (well the actual place) on march 5th to get some work done:
    14 bolt FF with 5.13's - i need suggestions for lockers, i was thinking gov-lock or something that doesn't effect my street mannors like i've heard the detriot does. again people swear to me that the Detriot isn't bad, but i have no experience with them.
    37 inch tires
    take a leaf out (i'm clueless here but someone said if i take some springs out it will lower the stance a little bit and soften the ride)
    Rims.... now i need help here.... i wanted to get 15 inch rims and grind the callipers, but Zakk has tried to talk people out of it before and others said that the breaks are so big anyway that grinding doesn't matter and nothing bas has happend to them.... So please give me input here
    At the moment the front is staying 10 bolt 3.73 and no 4wd for me till i get another axle... d60 if i can find one when i get the $$ /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif

2. mudhog

mudhog THEGAME Staff Member Super Moderator

Re: I\'ve made the appointment to get a 14FF installed :) a few q\'s

just go with the detroit they are not as bad as people make them out to be /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

3. TX Mudder

TX Mudder 1/2 ton status

Detroit all the way. No other valid option.

I like running 15's on my d60/14bolt. The brakes are plenty big enough so no worries. I had the 15s on my 3/4 ton front also and no worries, just buy a couple extra 4" discs for your angle gringer.