Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Jammed trip meter...

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by kp texan, May 30, 2005.

  1. kp texan

    kp texan 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    211
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Corpus Christi, TX
    I searched all over the forum for a post on this subject, to no avail. The trip meter on my new K5 (new to me but it's an '88) seems to be jammed since I can't press the reset button in all the way to reset it. I'd like to use it to track tank mileage but I dont want to break the thing by putting too much force on it. Have any of you guys had this problem and, if so, what did you do to fix it? :)

    Thanks so much,

    Wes
     
  2. k5freak44

    k5freak44 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Posts:
    2,164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Plano, TX
    i had the same problem........




































    i still have the same problem. :mad:
    good question, and i hope someone can answer it. :cool1:
     
  3. Fubeca

    Fubeca 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2002
    Posts:
    2,100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Denver Area
    Push and turn ;)
     
  4. big jimmy 91

    big jimmy 91 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Posts:
    639
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northwestern Ontario Canada
    :grin: Ditto ' it can be a pain but it will turn over with a little persitance
     
  5. kp texan

    kp texan 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    211
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Corpus Christi, TX
    Thanks for the help. Looks like I'll just have to work it a little more. :)
     
  6. cbbr

    cbbr 1 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Posts:
    14,681
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    High velocity, Low altitude
    Let me know if that works, mine has been stuck since the day I bought the truck. Nothing seems to work.
     
  7. BlazerFarm

    BlazerFarm Texagonian Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Posts:
    1,275
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Gresham, Oregon
    Yeah, my 90 is a pain in the butt to reset. I have to push in and turn clockwise. Depending on what the numbers are set to I may have to push and turn about 9 times to hit all zeroes. It isn't easy. What a bad design.
     
  8. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,976
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    Pushing it in and putting a little side load on it typically works. It isn't a push/reset setup as said, it's a push/turn deal.

    Yes, poor design, even when they work "right" they aren't very convenient. Then again, it's either that, or no trip odo.
     

Share This Page