Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Job Question...

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by PhoenixZorn, Mar 22, 2005.

1. PhoenixZorn

PhoenixZorn 1/2 ton status

If you worked in an office setting and made decent money, but the hours absolutely would ruin your life (not being able to spend time with the wife, kid, truck, etc... ) and you could instead learn to build engines for say 30% less money and have hours that you could deal with, would you switch jobs?

I work as a call center agent and sit at a computer for 9 hours a day. During the last 3 weeks, I have gained 10 lbs, I work 8-5 currently, but will soon be switching to 11-8pm. I make decent money for the area I live, though if I were on my own, I wouldn't be able to make the mortgage payment on my pay by itself.

I visited "The Engine Shop" today in my town, and the guy works alone but is thinking about hiring someone on to help. I've never been a mechanic, never took auto or shop class in school, but I'm natuarally mechanically inclined... which basically means if you put a tool in my hand, I can figure out what to do with it without much coaching. I told the guy I was looking for a new job where I can learn somehting new every day, and he builds race engines as well as your run of the mill 400+ hp 383s for daily drivers and muscle cars. He does no maintenance work, only building and rebuilding, and I really want to learn. I told the guy I'd take 30% less than I'm making currently, just for the ability to work close to home so I can get home in a jiffy if my kid gets sick or any other reason. I also can't think of anything I'd rather be doing right now other than being a gunsmith, but I don't have the money to start my own business right now.