Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Job?

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by Confedneck, Sep 26, 2003.

1. Confedneck

Confedneck 3/4 ton status

so..someone give me some advice on a good paying job that i wont HATE...right now i work as an automotive technician apprentice at a ford dealer..and they pay me 8.50/hr...kind of hard to do anything on 250/week...they wont make me flat-rate (pay by the job, not the hour) for another year after they send me to school...so im ready to quit...but all i have is a high school diploma and vocational training as a mechanic.. id prefer to work inside..this heat is killing me...any ideas would be appreciated.. /forums/images/graemlins/ears.gif /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif /forums/images/graemlins/ears.gif

2. Can Can

Can Can Pusher Man Staff Member Super Moderator

How old are you, brother? You do realize that young people have to put their time in before they get the big money jobs, right?

I'm not trying to hack on you, but I hear the same kind of thing from some of the young kids around here too. They think that they should be able to walk into a well-paying job with little or no training. Unfortunately, the world doesn't work that way. Work hard, develop your skills, and the money will start coming. It's that easy.

3. Confedneck

i do realize that young people do not simply walk into well-paying jobs...but ive been there almost 2 years with almost NO advancement..its kind of sad..other guys i work with were there 2 years and on flat-rate pay after a year or less..maybe because they were older..but they started where i did..im willing to be trained, and very open to most any type of employment, other than joining the military or going to college..